This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 23 February, 2019

4 championship debutants in Waterford hurling team to face Cork

The sides meet in Semple Stadium next Sunday.

Austin Gleeson was in action against Kilkenny in last year's All-Ireland hurling semi-final.
Austin Gleeson was in action against Kilkenny in last year's All-Ireland hurling semi-final.

WATERFORD MANAGER DEREK McGrath has handed senior championship debuts to Tadgh Burke, Barry Coughlan, Colin Dunford and Austin Gleeson for Sunday’s Munster quarter-final against Cork.

Injuries have hit Waterford in the build-up to this game and created the chance for young players to be handed positions in the starting fifteen.

Burke will start at right corner-back with Coughlan also lining up in defence at left half-back. In attack Dunford will play at right half-forward while Gleeson is to start at left half-forward.

The selection marks a meteoric rise for Gleeson as he won an All-Ireland minor hurling medal last September playing at centre-back for Waterford. He did feature alongside Burke and Dunford for the county U21 side last July.

Dunford was part of the Dungarvan Colleges team that won the Croke Cup last April while Burke won a Dr Harty Cup medal with the same side in 2012.

There is also a first senior championship start for Eddie Barrett, who did come on as a substitute in last July’s thrilling qualifier extra-time loss to Kilkenny.

There are only eight survivors from the Waterford side that played in that match against the Cats with Stephen O’Keeffe, Liam Lawlor, Noel Connors, Jamie Nagle, Michael Walsh, Kevin Moran, Jake Dillon and Brian O’Sullivan all selected to start.

Injuries rule out Daragh Fives, Richie Foley, Jamie Barron, Stephen Molumphy, Stephen Bennett, Brian O’Halloran, Philip Mahony and Stephen Daniels. Shane O’Sullivan misses out through suspension.

John OÕDwyer and Barry Coughlan Barry Coughlan is another newcomer to the Waterford defence. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

1. Stephen O’Keeffe – Ballygunner
2. Tadgh Burke – Clashmore/Kinsalebeg
3. Liam Lawlor – Fourmilewater
4. Noel Connors – Passage
5. Jamie Nagle – Dungarvan
6. Michael Walsh – Stradbally
7. Barry Coughlan – Ballygunner
8. Kevin Moran – De La Salle
9. Eddie Barrett – De La Salle
10. Colin Dunford – Colligan
11. Pauric Mahony – Ballygunner
12. Austin Gleeson – Mount Sion
13. Brian O’Sullivan – Ballygunner
14. Shane Walsh – Fourmilewater
15. Jake Dillon – De La Salle

Selection Box – What way will Cork and Waterford line up next Sunday?

“What a mistake you’re after making here, these lads are flying and you’re after walking away”

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: