Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 14°C Tuesday 20 October 2020

3 of Waterford's heroes against Kilkenny named in U21 side for Cork clash

Sean Power has included Conor Gleeson, Shane Bennett and Patrick Curran in his team.

Shane Bennett was one of the goalscorers in Thurles on Saturday.
Shane Bennett was one of the goalscorers in Thurles on Saturday.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

WATERFORD HAVE NAMED their team for Thursday’s Munster U21 hurling championship semi-final against Cork, with three of the heroes from the weekend’s senior win over Kilkenny set to start.

Conor Gleeson and Shane Bennett both started for Derek McGrath’s side during Saturday’s pulsating senior championship win over the Cats, with Bennett scoring a goal, while Patrick Curran came off the bench.

All three have been included in Sean Power’s side for the last four showdown with Cork at Walsh Park (7.30pm) as the Déise continue their quest to defend the provincial crown they lifted last year.

Limerick face Clare in the other Munster semi-final on Wednesday evening.


1. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)

2. David Prendergast (Lismore)
3. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
4. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan)

5. Jordan Henley (Tallow)
6. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside)
7. Callum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower)

8. Andy Molumby (Cappoquin)
9. Colm Roche (Shamrocks)

10. Jack Prendergast (Lismore)
11. Cormac Curran (Brickey Rangers)
12. Shane Ryan (De La Salle, captain)

13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)
14. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
15. Peter Hogan (Ballygunner)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘If a kid wants a picture, I’ll do what I asked when I was 10′: O’Shea responds to selfie storm

Cian O’Neill: ‘Anyone who ever doubted them was incredibly naive or even stupid’

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: