This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 24 October, 2019

Maurice Shanahan hits 12 points to seal semi final berth for Déise

Waterford were one point winners over Wexford in the league quarter-final.

Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Waterford 0-17

Wexford 1-13

Tomás McCarthy reports from Innovate Wexford Park

Maurice Shanahan dispatched twelve points as Waterford repelled a fired-up Wexford to progress to the last four of the National Hurling League.

The holders led by 0-16 to 0-12 before Conor McDonald rattled the net on 66 minutes to tee up a grandstand finish. Harry Kehoe then levelled the match for the sixth time as the home fans found their voice. Shanahan stepped forward to convert a last minute free however to squeeze the Déise through by the bare minimum.

A highly motivated Wexford galloped 0-8 to 0-2 clear after 19 minutes. Ian Byrne obliged with three frees for the hosts. Midfielder Lee Chin accounted for two including a glorious effort after he side-stepped Austin Gleeson. Waterford responded with six points, five from Shanahan and one by Philip Mahony, to tie it up for the very first time. Substitute Harry Kehoe edged Liam Dunne’s men in front (0-9 to 0-8) as Wexford left to a standing ovation.

The teams were on level terms four times during the third quarter. Waterford wriggled away through four Shanahan singles, including a fantastic solo score as he sprinted clear of Diarmuid O’Keeffe and Eoin Moore. Both sides were guilty of poor misses and finished on twelve wides apiece.

Wexford spurned four frees but roared back into contention four minutes from the end. Conor McDonald fielded a Cathal Dunbar delivery and flicked past Stephen O’Keeffe from close range. Kehoe’s equaliser lifted the roof but the Déise showed composure in the closing minutes. Shanahan guided them into a semi final meeting with Limerick on April 17.

Scorers for Waterford: Maurice Shanahan 0-12 (9fs, 1 65’); Austin Gleeson 0-2; Philip Mahony, Patrick Curran, Michael Walsh 0-1 each.

Scorers for Wexford: Ian Byrne 0-4 (3fs, 1 65’); Conor McDonald 1-0; Harry Kehoe 0-3, Lee Chin, Aidan Nolan 0-2 each; Shane Tomkins, Paul Morris 0-1 each.


1. Stephen O’Keeffe

2. Shane Fives
3. Barry Coughlan
4. Noel Connors

7. Philip Mahony
5. Tadhg De Burca
10. Kevin Moran

8. Jamie Barron
15. Colin Dunford

12. Michael Walsh
13. Patrick Curan
14. Jake Dillon

11. Shane Bennett
21. Maurice Shanahan
6. Austin Gleeson

24. Tom Devine for Curran (45)
22. Brian O’Halloran for Dillon (51)
23. Michael Kearney for Bennett (60)
9. Shane McNulty for Connors (63)


1. Conor O’Leary

2. Liam Ryan
3. Matthew O’Hanlon
4. James Breen

5. Eoin Moore
6. Paudie Foley
7. Jack O’Connor

8. Lee Chin
9. Harry Kehoe

10. Shane Tomkins
11. Podge Doran
12. Aidan Nolan

13. Paul Morris
14. Conor McDonald
15. Liam Óg McGovern

9. Harry Kehoe for O’Connor (32)
24. Andrew Shore for Byrne (52)
18. Andrew Kenny for Nolan (60)
21. Cathal Dunbar for Tomkins (61)
25. David Dunne for McGovern (70)

Referee: Johnny Ryan (Tipperary)

Kilkenny fire six goals en route to 24-point hammering over Offaly in league quarter final

Late goals rescue Cork hurlers and ensure Galway suffer setback of relegation

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Tomas McCarthy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel