Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 2°C Saturday 17 April 2021

First shock of the summer! Carlow dismiss Wexford to book last eight clash with the Dubs

Paul Broderick hit 10-points for the winners.

Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Carlow 2-17

Wexford 2-13

Declan Rooney reports from Dr Cullen Park

CARLOW ENDED THEIR  provincial championship losing streak against Wexford as Paul Broderick and Brendan Murphy led them to a memorable win at Dr Cullen Park.

Danny Moran’s goal early in the second-half gave Carlow the belief they needed to kick on to their first Leinster championship win since 2011, but they still needed Murphy’s added-time goal after PJ Banville and Naomhan Rossiter hit the net for Seamus McEnaney’s side.

Two frees from Ciaran Lyng got Wexford off to a great start as they played into a strong wind, and after Eoghan Ruth missed a goal chance at the other end, Micheal Furlong made it 0-3 to 0-0 after eight minutes for Wexford.

Both teams employed extremely defensive set-ups without the ball, but Carlow added a couple of points from distance to combat that tactic through Alan Kelly and Paul Broderick to cut the lead to one.

Along with Brendan Murphy, Broderick was the real Carlow danger man, and he chipped over two more excellent points from play before the interval for his side.

The loss of Daithi Waters to a black card on 18 minutes was a significant blow for Wexford as Carlow began to take control around the middle, while a free from Broderick gave his side the lead for the first time in the 35th minute.

But as they did through the first-half, Wexford had a good return from placed balls and a free each from Ben Brosnan and Lyng means the sides were level at 0-8 each at the interval.

Wexford started brightly again after the break thanks to a Brosnan free, but their challenge went downhill quickly when Danny Moran goaled for a 1-8 to 0-9 lead.

A second yellow card for Eoghan Nolan saw Wexford reduced to 14 men for the last 24 minutes, but they were lifted by PJ Banville’s goal in the 48th minute that left Carlow one point ahead.

Broderick and Brendan Murphy added points for a determined Carlow, but as soon as their lead was three points, Wexford levelled mattered with their second goal from Naomhan Rossiter from close range.

Broderick brought his personal tally to ten points with the lead score nine minutes from time, but he was sent off two minutes later when he picked up a second yellow card, but Murphy’s late goal ensure the win for the home side and a quarter-final with Dublin.

Scorers for Carlow: P Broderick 0-10 (5f), B Murphy 1-2, D Moran 1-0, D Foley 0-2, S Gannon 0-1, G Kelly 0-1; A Kelly 0-1.

Scorers for Wexford: B Brosnan 0-5 (5f), C Lyng 0-5 (5f), PJ Banville 1-1, N Rossiter 1-0, M Furlong 0-1, A Flynn 0-1.


1 Craig Kearney (Palatine)

2 Chris Crowley (Palatine)
3 Shane Redmond (Tinryland)
22 Conor Lawlor (Palatine)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

5 Danny Moran (Tinryland)
6 Daniel St Ledger (St Sylvester’s)
7 Gary Kelly (Mount Leinster Rangers)

8 Brendan Murphy (Rathvilly)
9 Séan Murphy (Fenagh)

10 Eoghan Ruth (Éire Óg)
11 Darragh Foley (c) (Kilbride)
12 Alan Kelly (Rathvilly)

13 Paul Broderick (Tinryland)
14 Ciarán Moran (Palatine)
15 John Murphy (Grange)

18 Sean Gannon for Moran (23 mins),
17 Barry John Molloy for Crowley (35+3),
19 Mark Rennick for Moran (53),
21 Jamie Clarke for Ruth (53)
4 Kieran Nolan for J Murphy (64),
20 Shane Clarke for G Kelly (65),


16 Conor Swaine (Horeswood)

2 Michael Furlong (Adamstonwn)
3 Naomhan Rossiter (St Mary’s Roslare)
4 Jim Rossiter (St Fintan’s)

26 Adrian Flynn (Gusserane)
6 Joey Wadding (St Fintan’s)
7 Brian Malone (Shelmaliers)

8 Daithí Waters (c) (St Martin’s)
9 Colm Kehoe (Cloughbawn)

10 Kevin O’Grady (St James)
11 Ben Brosnan (Castletown)
5 Eoghan Nolan (Shelmaliers)

13 Ciarán Lyng (St Martin’s)
14 John Tubritt (Fethard)
15 PJ Banville (Horeswood)

24 Niall Hughes for Waters (19 mins, black),
21 John Lacey for Kehoe (27)
25 Ronan Deveraux for J Rossiter (52),
18 Paul Curtis for Tubritt (57)
20 Conor Carty for Furlong (67)
22 Donal Shanley for Flynn (68).

Referee: Fergal Kelly (Longford).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Kilkenny and Mayo among 5 inter-county teams to miss drug tests since 2015

‘I never mix business and football. I have young fellas playing with my club that’s barred out of my nightclub’

About the author:

Declan Rooney

Read next: