This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 22 February, 2019

Maher returns to management with Tipperary as hurling backrooms finalised

Former Waterford assistant boss William Maher has taken over Tipperary’s U21 hurlers.

William Maher has taken over the Tipperary U21 hurlers.
William Maher has taken over the Tipperary U21 hurlers.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

WILLIAM MAHER HAS returned to intercounty management with Tipperary.

The 1996 All-Ireland minor winning captain was confirmed as the Premier County’s new U21 boss last night – and he succeeds TJ Connolly in the role.

Maher guided Tipp to All-Ireland minor glory in 2012 before he worked alongside Waterford senior boss Derek McGrath as assistant manager in 2014.

Ballingarry native Maher is a renowned coach and he has previous U21 experience with Tipperary, having served as a selector on the 2010 All-Ireland winning crop.

Former Tipperary player John Devane from Clonoulty Rossmore is coming on board as coach alongside Maher.

John Devane 5/6/2005 John Devane is William Maher's coach with the Tipperary U21s. Source: INPHO

He was involved with the Thurles CBS team that won the Harty Cup earlier this year.

The third member of Maher’s team is Billy O’Shea, brother of former Tipp senior manager Eamon.

O’Shea, who will also liaise between the U21 and senior panels, guided Kilruane MacDonagh’s to a recent county senior hurling semi-final appearance, where they were narrowly beaten by champions Thurles Sarsfields.

Meanwhile, Michael Ryan’s senior management team was confirmed last night, along expected lines.

Ryan’s former teammate John Madden has come on board as selector, with 2010 All-Ireland winner Declan Fanning remaining on board as coach in the new regime.

Michael Ryan Michael Ryan has confirmed his senior management team. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Lorrha-Dorrha clubman Madden managed North outfit Silvermines this year and he won All-Ireland senior hurling medals in 1989 and 1991.

Liam Cahill has also been retained as minor hurling manager, having guided Tipp to last September’s All-Ireland final against Galway at Croke Park.

Cahill has been handed a fresh two-year term, with a review after the 2016 campaign.

Cahill will be assisted by coach Michael Bevans and selectors John Sheedy, TJ Ryan and Seán Corbett.

Liam Cahill Liam Cahill has been retained as Tipp's minor hurling manager. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

It had been expected that Liam Kearns would be ratified as Tipp’s new senior football manager but that did not happen.

Instead, it is anticipated that Kearns will be given the green light to succeed Peter Creedon when county board chiefs meet again in three weeks time.

Long-serving goalkeeper Paul Fitzgerald, who retired last year from intercounty football, will be part of the Kearns backroom team, with the remainder of his set-up to be finalised in the coming weeks.

It is predicted that the senior management team will also look after the U21s, with a minor manager to be appointed shortly.

Evans hails “great appointment” of former sidekick as new Tipperary manager

New Cork hurling boss Kieran Kingston names Stephen McDonnell as captain

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next: