Thursday 2 February 2023 Dublin: 10°C
Ashley Crowden/INPHO
# Resilient
Paddy Butler grabs late try to ensure a Munster comeback win in Cardiff
The hosts grabbed the lead with just six minutes left before the flanker dived over for the crucial score.

Cardiff Blues 24

Munster 28

ANTHONY FOLEY’S SIDE had to wait until the 77th minute to score their only try of the game but it proved the defining moment.

Paddy Butler popped up with the late, late five-pointer before Johnny Holland added the conversion to ensure a 28-24 victory for Munster at BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park.

The guests enjoyed the better of the first-half, heading into the break 18-14 in front after an unerring kicking display from JJ Hanrahan who scored six penalties. But, Cardiff did grab a try through debutant Lucas Amorosino after some good work by Rhys Patchell. and could’ve had the half-time lead had it not been for Patchell subsequently missing two penalties.

After an impressive start to the second period, Cardiff did go in front on 62 minutes when Manoa Vosawai did brilliantly to power his way over the line. Gareth Davies knocked over the extra points, having taken over the kicking duties from the injured Patchell earlier in the half.

JJ Hanrahan kicks a penalty Ashley Crowden / INPHO JJ Hanrahan kicked seven penalties in total for Munster. Ashley Crowden / INPHO / INPHO

But Hanrahan was relentlessly impressive and drew Munster level at 21-21 with his seventh penalty on 68 minutes. But shortly after, Davies pushed Cardiff into the lead with a penalty of his own and, with six minutes to go, Munster needed a late rally.

It seemed that their chance had gone when Johnny Holland (who came in for Hanrahan) kicked for the corner but CJ Stander knocked on and a glorious opportunity was spurned.

But to their credit, Munster kept up the fight and Stander popped up to feed Butler, who broke through for the critical score.

Cardiff Blues scorers: 

Tries: L Amorosino, M Vosawai

Conversions: G Davies

Penalties: R Patchell [3], G Davies [1]

Munster scorers:

Try: P Butler

Conversion: J Holland

Penalties: JJ Hanrahan [7]

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


CARDIFF BLUES: Rhys Patchell (Dan Fish, ’51); Richard Smith, Adam Thomas, Gavin Evans, Lucas Amorosino; Gareth Davies, Lloyd Williams (Lewis Jones, ’74); Sam Hobbs, Matthew Rees (capt) (Kristian Dacey, ’57), Adam Jones; Jarrad Hoeata (Macauley Cook, ’61), Filo Paulo; Josh Turnbull, Josh Navidi (Ellis Jenkins, ’74), Manoa Vosawai.

MUNSTER: Johne Murphy; Andrew Conway (Barry O’Mahony, ’59), Andrew Smith, Rory Scannell, Gerhard van den Heever; JJ Hanrahan (Johnny Holland, ’74), Duncan Williams (Cathal Sheridan, ’59); John Ryan, Kevin O’Byrne (Eusebio Guinazu, ’51), BJ Botha (Stephen Archer, ’65); Donncha O’Callaghan (c), Billy Holland; CJ Stander, Paddy ButleR, Robin Copeland.

Referee: Marius Mitrea (Italy)

The All Blacks prepared for their game in Chicago with some American football in the snow

‘I believe I’m up there with any back row in the country’ – Dominic Ryan is really backing himself

Your Voice
Readers Comments