Friday 3 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
# magic numbers
8 stats that capture Ó Sé family's remarkable relationship with Kerry football
It’s been an incredible run.

MARC Ó SÉ’s inter-county retirement ended another remarkable chapter in the relationship between his family and Kerry inter-county Gaelic football.

With their late uncle Páidí leading the way as a player and manager, siblings Darragh, Tomás and Marc continued that tradition by racking up some incredible numbers between them over the past 22 years.

Here are seven of the best:

310 — Championship appearances for Kerry by the quartet (Páidí 53, Darragh 81, Tomás 88, Marc 88)

Marc O Se Cathal Noonan / INPHO Marc Ó Sé in action earlier this year. Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

62 – Seasons their Kerry careers spanned across (Páidí 15, Darragh 16, Tomás 16, Marc 15)

Paidi O'Se in 1985 Billy Stickland / INPHO Páidí Ó Sé after winning the 1985 All-Ireland final. Billy Stickland / INPHO / INPHO

39 — Munster titles (Páidí 11, Darragh 9, Tomás 9, Marc 10)

Tomas O Se Andrew Paton / INPHO Tomás Ó Sé in 2006. Andrew Paton / INPHO / INPHO

24 — All-Irelands (Páidí 8, Darragh 6, Tomás 5, Marc 5)

Justin McNulty and Darragh O Se 22/9/2002 DIGITAL INPHO Darragh Ó Sé in action against Armagh's Justin McNulty in 2002. INPHO

23 — Consecutive seasons that at least one of Darragh, Tomás and Marc was involved. Darragh made his debut in 1994.

Tomas O Se INPHO Tomás Ó Sé in action against Roscommon in 2003. INPHO

17 — All-Stars (Páidí 5, Darragh 4, Tomás 5, Marc 3)

All-Stars INPHO Marc, Darragh and Tomás Ó Sé all won All-Star awards in 2007. INPHO

8 — Kerry SFC titles (two each)

Darragh O Se and Tomas Meehan 17/3/2004 INPHO Darragh Ó Sé in action against Tomás Meehan of Caltra in the All-Ireland club final in 2004. An Ghaeltacht, for whom Marc Ó Sé and Tomás Ó Sé were also playing that St Patrick's Day, lost by a point (0-13 0-12) to the Galway champions. INPHO

 2 — Footballer of the Year awards (Tomás 2004, Marc, 2007)*

Marc O Se Andrew Paton / INPHO Marc Ó Sé won the award in 2007. Andrew Paton / INPHO / INPHO

*The Footballer of the Year award began in 1995, well after the inter-county retirement of Páidí Ó Sé.

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

‘Strong reservations’ see Dineen withdraw from Roscommon race, McStay only candidate left

The black card is here to stay in Gaelic Football and why the sin bin would not work



Your Voice
Readers Comments