Thursday 2 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
# starting XV
Kerry U21 team packed with minor winners as St Patrick's Day club final rules out Dr Crokes trio
Senior defender Brian Ó Beaglaoich misses out through injury

JACK O’CONNOR MAY be without players due to the All-Ireland senior club football final and injury, but he has still been able to pick a Kerry team filled with minor winners for Wednesday’s EirGrid Munster U21 football quarter-final against Clare.

KerryU21 INPHO Andrew Barry, Sean O'Shea and Conor Geaney all start for Kerry. INPHO

Dr Crokes participation in Croke Park on St Patrick’s Day robs Kerry of Gavin White, Micheál Burns and Jordan Kiely while senior defender Brian Ó Beaglaoich misses out through injury.

But Kerry still have plenty experience with all but one of their starting fifteen having been part of the All-Ireland minor winning sides since 2014. That player is full-forward Matthew O’Sullivan, who missed last year’s Munster U21 final through injury after playing in the earlier rounds.

Six of last year’s team that lost to Cork in the U21 decider are selected here in Tom O’Sullivan, Jason Foley, Tom Leo O’Sullivan, Barry O’Sullivan, Brian Ó Seanachain, and Matthew Flaherty.

Jack O'Connor Tommy Dickson / INPHO Kerry U21 manager Jack O'Connor and selector Declan O'Sullivan. Tommy Dickson / INPHO / INPHO

Wing-back Daniel O’Brien and centre-forward Sean O’Shea were part of last year’s All-Ireland minor winning side while the team is captained by Brian Sugrue.

Shane Ryan starts in goal despite playing in attack recently for UL in the Sigerson Cup while in total the Dingle club supplies six members of the starting fifteen.

Throw-in at Austin Stack Park on Wednesday night is 7.30pm.


1. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)

2. Tom (Leo) O’Sullivan (Dingle)
3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
4. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

5. Brian Sugrue (Renard) (captain)
6. Andrew Barry (Na Gaeil)
7. Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk)

8. Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle)
9. Brian Ó Seanacháin (Ballydonoghue)

10. Brandon Barrett (Ardfert)
11. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare)
12. Matthew Flaherty (Dingle)

13. Conor Geaney (Dingle)
14. Matthew O’Sullivan (St Michael’s-Foilmore)
15. Cathal Bambury (Dingle)


16. Eoghan O’Brien (Churchill)
17. Killian Spillane (Templenoe)
18. Cormac Coffey (Kerins O’Rahilly’s)
19. Ivan Parker (Churchill)
20. Jack Morgan (Austin Stacks)
21. Roibeard Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)
22. Lee O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
23. John Mark Foley (Kilgarvan)
24. Graham O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Analysis: Mayo’s first-half shambles and Dublin’s clever attacking

‘Off the field he’s irreplaceable ‘ – Praise for Clare’s Ryan who is out for year on medical advice

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel