Sunday 5 February 2023 Dublin: -1°C
# Belfield Boys
Goals from Kerry's Barry and Laois forward Lowry help UCD claim 12-point Sigerson Cup win
John Divilly’s side saw off Maynooth University today.

UCD 2-15
Maynooth 1-6

Kevin O’Brien reports from Maynooth University, Kildare

LAOIS FORWARD EOIN Lowry clipped over 1-7 as UCD coasted into Round 2 of the Sigerson Cup with a 12-point defeat of Maynooth University this afternoon.

Jack Barry celebrates scoring a goal  23/1/2018 Bryan Keane / INPHO Jack Barry celebrates his goal for UCD. Bryan Keane / INPHO / INPHO

John Divilly’s side, who lost the final of this competition to St Mary’s last year, were good value for the victory with a number of impressive performers.

HE GAA / YouTube

Monaghan star Conor McCarthy ran the show from centre-forward and posted 0-4, while Kerry’s Jack Barry bagged a goal and gave a dominant performance at midfield.

Conor McCarthy 23/1/2018 Bryan Keane / INPHO 0-4 today for UCD's Conor McCarthy. Bryan Keane / INPHO / INPHO

Defensively, UCD were extremely solid, boasting two members of Dublin’s All-Ireland U21 winning side – Cillian O’Shea and Eoin Murchan – as well as Mayo defender Stephen Coen and Tipperary half-back Jimmy Feehan.

Murchan was replaced at half-time due to a tight hamstring but he remains in contention to start for Dublin in their National League opener against Kildare on Saturday night.

Con O’Callaghan was named on the UCD bench but didn’t tog out, while injured star Jack McCaffrey was a vocal presence on the line for the 2016 champions.

Eoin Lowery and Paul Cribben 23/1/2018 Bryan Keane / INPHO Eoin Lowry (left) in action for UCD against Maynooth's Paul Cribben. Bryan Keane / INPHO / INPHO

Lilywhites boss Cian O’Neill was in attendance to watch the likes of Paul Cribben, Paddy Brophy and Daniel Flynn in action for Maynooth, but it was Leitrim duo Ryan O’Rourke and Keith Beirne who did most of the damage for the hosts.

O’Rourke was Maynooth’s best player and kicked their only score of the first half. UCD were far more clinical at the far end however and Lowry’s well-taken 16th minute goal put them in complete control.

Johnny Doyle’s side were left to rue 10 wides in the opening period, trailing by 1-8 to 0-1 at the interval.

John Divilly 23/1/2018 UCD boss John Divilly

Johnny Doyle 23/1/2018 Bryan Keane / INPHO Maynooth University manager Johnny Doyle. Bryan Keane / INPHO / INPHO

UCD reeled off 1-1 shortly after the break, including a lobbed goal from Barry, to put the result beyond doubt.

Beirne and O’Rourke finished with 1-5 between them, with the former slotting home a penalty after Flynn was brought down in the area.

That left Maynooth trailing by 2-13 to 1-5, but late scores from McCarthy and Lowry (free) sealed the comfortable UCD victory.

Scorers for UCD: Eoin Lowry 1-7 (0-5f), Conor McCarthy 0-4 (0-2f), Jack Barry 1-0, Liam Casey 0-2, Jimmy Feehan and Evan O’Carroll 0-1 each.

Scorers for Maynooth University: Keith Beirne 1-2 (1-0 pen), Ryan O’Rourke 0-3, Kevin O’Callaghan 0-1.

University College Dublin

1. Charlie Manton (Fethard, Tipperary)

2. Luke Fortune (Cavan Gaels, Cavan)
3. Cillian O’Shea (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)
4. Conor Mullally (Cuala, Dublin)

5. Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna, Dublin)
6. Stephen Coen (Hollymount-Carramore, Mayo)
7. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule, Tipperary)

8. Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle, Kerry)
9. Jack Barry (Na Gaeil, Kerry)

10. Liam Casey (Cahir, Tipperary)
11. Conor McCarthy (Scotstown, Monaghan)
13. Brian Byrne (Naas, Kildare)

12. Patrick O’Connor (St Farnan’s, Sligo)
14. Evan O’Carroll (Crettyard, Laois)
15. Eoin Lowry (Killeshin, Laois)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


30. Tom Hayes (Cootehill, Cavan) for O’Connor (half-time)
19. Brian O Seanachain (Ballydonoghue, Kerry) for Murchan (half-time)
24. Larry Moran (Killoe Emmet Óg, Longford) for O’Carroll (52)
17. Darren Maguire (Maynooth, Kildare) for Barry (59)

Maynooth University

1. Niall Carrie (Hunterstown Rovers, Louth)

3. Mark Hyland (Athy, Kildare)
2. Jason Gibbons (Kilcock, Kildare)
5. Ethan O’Donnell (Naomh Conaill, Donegal)

7. Cormac Cannon (Kilcar, Donegal)
6. Tom Hannifan (Ballyboden St-Enda’s, Dublin)
4. James Mooney (Meath Hill, Meath)

9. Paddy Brophy (Celbridge, Kildare)
8. Paul Cribben (Johnstownbridge, Kildare)

10. Daire O Baoill (Gaoth Dobhair, Donegal)
11. Ryan O’Rourke (Fenagh, Leitrim)
12. Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge, Kildare)

15. Keith Beirne (Mohill, Leitrim)
13. Aaron Jones (Carrickmacross, Monaghan)
14. Padraig Fogarty (St Laurence’s, Kildare)


23. Kevin O’Callaghan (Celbridge Kildare) for Cannon (half-time)
22. Cathal Dunne (Laois) for Jones (37)
19. Sean McDonagh (Donegal) for Gibbons (black-card, 56)

Referee: Martin McNally

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

‘We can’t claim on the one hand to be amateur and on the other throw a blind eye to this’

Ex-Clare captain to return from travelling, injuries for Tipp game and new Banner teenage prospect

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel