Monday 30 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
Bryan Keane/INPHO Damien Cahalane in action for St Finbarr's today.
# Barrs In Blue
St Finbarr's end 29-year wait for Cork senior hurling final spot with win over Newtown
It will be an all-city final as St Finbarr’s will meet Blackrock.

St Finbarr’s 2-25

Newtownshandrum 0-20

SINCE 1993 THE wait to contest a Cork hurling decider has been exhausting for St Finbarr’s but after a succession of semi-final disappointments, they got the job done at the last four stage today.

It was a commanding display that secured their semi-final victory, 11 points to spare over Newtownshandrum as they ensured that the famed Togher club will appear again in a Cork senior hurling final.

There they will take on Blackrock in a city showdown, that is a repeat of this year’s group stage tie between the pair that St Finbarr’s won, and marks the first time in 40 years the two clubs have collided with the silverware on offer.

Goals from Brian Hayes and Ben Cunningham helped St Finbarr’s progress on a day when little went right for their opponents Newtownshandrum. The North Cork club, chasing a first final spot since 2009, suffered a terrible opening to the game as they were overwhelmed by the pace and power of St Finbarr’s.

They trailed 1-9 to 0-1 after the opening quarter and then were hit with another setback when defender Conor Twomey was shown a red card, a penalty that seemed harsh on replays when the foul appeared to merit a yellow card.

Newtown display wonderful resolve after that though. They trailed 1-11 to 0-1 in the 19th minute yet remarkably were only five adrift at the interval, 1-13 to 0-11. Tim O’Mahony and Jamie Coughlan displayed outstanding leadership, while Cormac O’Brien and Cathal Naughton notched some impressive points as they kept in the hunt.

The concession of a second goal immediately after half-time was another blow they had to face, while defender Mattie Ryan was sent-off near full-time and O’Mahony saw a penalty effort produce a fine save from St Finbarr’s goalkeeper Shane Hurley.

St Finbarr’s blistering opening to the game paved the way for their success. They had an array of forwards in strong form with Cunningham firing 1-10 overall and Hayes shooting 1-4 from play. Conor Cahalane impressed as he knocked over four points from play and Ethan Twomey reeled off three points.

An incisive run by Conor Cahalane saw him set up Hayes to finish clinically for the first goal in the 14th minute and a piece of brilliant skill by Jack Cahalane early in the second half paved the way for Cunnigham to hit a rasping strike to the bottom corner for St Finbarr’s second goal.

Newtown were tricky opponents for the Barrs to deal with in the third quarter as they stayed within six points but the match was settled once the victors pushed clear and rattled off seven points without reply in the third quarter.

The decider awaits against Blackrock on Sunday 16 October.

Scorers for St Finbarr’s: Ben Cunningham 1-10 (0-6f, 0-1 ’65), Brian Hayes 1-4, Conor Cahalane 0-4, Ethan Twomey 0-3, William Buckley 0-2, Jack Cahalane 0-1, Sam Cunningham 0-1.

Scorers for Newtownshandrum: Jamie Coughlan 0-11 (0-8f, 0-1 ’65), Cathal Naughton 0-4, Tim O’Mahony 0-3 (0-2f), Cormac O’Brien 0-2.

St Finbarr’s

1.Shane Hurley

2. Eoin Keane, 3. Jamie Burns, 4. Cian Walsh

17. Glenn O’Connor, 6. Damien Cahalane, 7. Billy Hennessy

5. Ben O’Connor, 9. Ethan Twomey, Conor Cahalane

10. Ben Cunningham, 12. Conor Cahalane, 14. Padraig Buggy

8. William Buckley, 13. Brian Hayes, 15. Jack Cahalane


19. Ciaran Doolan for Walsh (52)

21. Sam Cunningham for Jack Cahalane (53)

20. Colm Keane for Twomey (57)

23. Colm Barrett for Damien Cahalane (60)


1. James Bowles

7. Conor Twomey, 3. Paul O’Sullivan, 4. Mattie Ryan

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

2. Kieran O’Sullivan, 6. Tim O’Mahony, 5. Jack Herlihy

11. Jerry Lane, 10. Cathal Naughton

8. Cormac O’Brien, 14. Jamie Coughlan, 12. David O’Connor

13. Michael Thompson, 9. Jack Twomey, 15. Ryan Geary


22. Darragh Hawe for Lane (19)

19. Conor Griffin for Geary (half-time)

18. Sean Griffin for Jack Twomey (37)

21. Padraig Noonan for O’Connor (50)

23. Michael Bowles for Thompson (55)

Referee: Colm Lyons


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel