St. Kieran's players celebrate. Donall Farmer/INPHO

19th All-Ireland for St. Kieran's after win over Kilkenny CBS

A storming second half proved the difference in this afternoon’s Croke Cup.

St Kieran’s College 2-16

Kilkenny CBS 0-13

TWO SUBSTITUTES HELPED St Kieran’s College sink their city rivals Kilkenny CBS and land their 19th Croke Cup.

Sean Morrissey and Robbie Donnelly helped swing the game their side’s way, the duo scoring seven second half points as Kieran’s tasted senior schools hurling All-Ireland honours.

The Saints made their first break for the title within two minutes of the new half when Tadhg O’Dwyer touched the sliotar to the net. They followed that up with a barrage of points from Brian Cody, Donnelly (two frees) and three from Morrissey as they surged into a 2-11 to 0-12 lead by the 47th minute.

It was the Leinster champions the CBS made the better start to a tight game. Thanks to the accuracy of Andrew Gaffney (two frees and a 65) and the industrious Luke Scanlon (0-1) they were 0-5 to 0-0 in front after 11 minutes, but Kieran’s hit back in solid fashion when Brian Cody gathered Jason Byrne’s hand-pass and blasted the sliotar past netminder Darragh Holohan.

The CBS shrugged off the concession of that goal, staying ahead thanks to two more Scanlon points, but conceding frees hurt them. Four Conor Murphy points from placed balls, the last in injury-time, saw Kieran’s draw level by the break (0-7 to 1-4).

Although the CBS managed the first two points of the new half they were stung by that goal. Kieran’s made sure they wouldn’t force their way back into the game, closing out with the last five points to seal the spoils.

Scorers for St Kieran’s College: Tadhg O’Dwyer (1-3); Brian Cody (1-1); Conor Murphy, Robbie Donnelly (0-4 frees each); Conor O’Carroll (1-0); Sean Morrissey (0-3); Jason Cleere (0-1).
Scorers for CBS Kilkenny: Luke Scanlon (0-5); Andrew Gaffney (0-5, 0-4 frees, 0-1 65); James Lenihan (0-2); Paddy Deegan (0-1).

St Kieran’s College: Jason Barcoe (Clara), Michael Cody (Dunnamaggin), Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan), Jack Keoghan (Tullaroan), Jason Cleere (Bennettsbridge), Darren Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Eoin Walsh (Lisdowney), Kevin Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge), James Maher (St Lachtain’s), Jason Byrne (Clara), Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge), Brian Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Conor Murphy (Graigue-Ballycallan), Conor O’Carroll (Lisdowney), Tadhg O’Dwyer (James Stephens).

Subs: Sean Morrissey (Bennettsbridge) for Byrne, Robbie Donnelly (Thomastown) for Murphy, Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan) for Cody, Conor Browne (James Stephens) for Walsh.

Kilkenny CBS: Darragh Holohan (Dicksboro), Kevin Galvin (Clara), Cathal McGrath (John Lockes), Conor Doheny (Dicksboro), Gary Bryan (O’Loughlin Gaels), Evan Cody (Dicksboro), Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels), Niall Mullins (James Stephens), J.P. Treacy (Young Irelands), Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels), Luke Scanlon (James Stephens), Andrew Gaffney (Dicksboro), Robbie Buckley (O’Loughlin Gaels), James Byrne (James Stephens), James Lenihan (O’Loughlin Gaels).

Subs: Matthew McWey (James Stephens) for Byrne, Robbie Murphy (Dicksboro) for Lawlor, Paul Delahunty (Young Irelands) for Lenihan, Diarmuid Doheny (Tullaroan) for Gaffney.

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway).

Watch highlights here:

TG4 / YouTube

All-Ireland schools football wins for Coláiste Ghobnatan, Our Lady’s Belmullet and Good Counsel New Ross

Roscrea lift Paddy Buggy Cup with emphatic win over Ballycastle

Trevor Spillane
Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.