Alan Freeman of Mayo with Conor McAtamney and Eoin McNicholl of Derry. Donall Farmer/INPHO
Final Four

Early scoring blitz too much for Derry as Mayo advance to semi finals

Alan Freeman was the scoring star for Mayo as they beat the Oak Leaf County with ease.

Mayo 2-12

Derry 1-7

Mayo were never in any serious bother at McHale Park as James Horan’s side advanced to the Allianz Football League semi-finals.

Derry, who already were assured of a place at the penultimate stage of the competition, made 14 changes to the team which defeated Kildare and the Oak Leafers suffered during a first half dominated by Mayo.

By the time the interval rolled around Mayo, who spurned a few gilt edged goal opportunities, led by 0-8 and 0-1. Five early points in a row ensured Mayo seized the initiative with Alan Freeman a potent inside threat, while Mikey Sweeney and substitute Darren Coen also craved involvement.

Twenty one minutes had elapsed when Derry eventually scored courtesy of a fine Aidan McAlynn point. But Mayo responded with three efforts on the spin from Tom Parsons, Freeman, and Sweeney and Derry were in deep distress.

Ger Cafferky with James Kearney Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

An Emmett McGuckin point immediately after the restart was quickly wiped out when Freeman netted a 40th minute penalty following a foul on him by Derry’s Conor McAtamney.

Derry struck 1-3 without reply including a splendid goal on 51 from McGuckin, but Mayo weren’t too perturbed despite a 17 minute scoreless spell. Freeman assumed responsibility confidently rifling a goal in the 57th minute and Horan’s charges will now face Derry again next Sunday in the knockout stages.

Scorers for Mayo

Alan Freeman 2-6 (1-0pen, 3fs, 145), Mikey Sweeney 0-2, Donal Vaughan 0-1, Tom Parsons 0-1, Darren Coen 0-1, Andy Moran 0-1.

Scorers for Derry

Emmett McGuckin 1-1, Aidan McAlynn 0-2, Charlie Kielt 0-1, Niall McFeely 0-1, Emmett Bradley 0-1, Aaron Kerrigan 0-1 (f).

Mayo: Robert Hennelly; Tom Cunniffe, Ger Cafferkey, Kevin Keane; Shane McHale, Donal Vaughan, Colm Boyle; Tom Parsons, Seamus O’Shea; Keith Higgins, Andy Moran, Jason Doherty; Mikey Sweeney, Alan Freeman, Cillian O’Connor. Subs: Darren Coen for O’Connor (10 mins), Richie Feeney for Higgins (36 mins), Barry Moran for Doherty (47 mins), Michael Conroy for Sweeney (47 mins), Diarmuid O’Connor for Parsons (62 mins), Lee Keegan for Boyle (70 mins).

Derry: Eoin McNicholl; Oisin Duffy, Conor McAtamney, Karl McKaigue; Charlie Kielt, Mark Craig, Aidan McAlynn; Emmett McGuckin, Niall Holly; Aaron Devlin, Danny Heavron, Carlus McWilliams; James Kearney, Declan Mullan, Ciaran McGoldrick. Subs: Emmett Bradley for McGoldrick (36 mins), Aaron Kerrigan for Mullan (45 mins), Kieran Conway for Devlin (52 mins), Niall McFeely for Heavron (60 mins), Peter Cassidy for Kearney (68 mins), Niall McNicholl for McGuckin (69 mins).

Referee: D Coldrick (Meath).

LIVE: Sunday Allianz Football League matchtracker

Explainer: What’s at stake for teams in the final round of the Allianz football league?