Eoin McDevitt and Ken Early in studio. YouTube screengrab
Off The Ball

Off The Ball team leaves Newstalk

Sports editor Ger Gilroy will anchor the programme from now on.

Updated 5.15pm

NEWSTALK HAVE TODAY parted company with the team behind the award-winning Off The Ball programme.

Presenter Eoin McDevitt, Ken Early, Ciaran Murphy, Simon Hick and Mark Horgan have resigned according to the station.

A statement issued to reads: ”Ger Gilroy, Newstalk Sports Editor, who devised Off the Ball in 2002, will be joined by mainstays of the Newstalk sports team – Cian Murtagh, David McIntyre and Joe Molloy – in taking over the running of the show, starting tonight.

“Newstalk would like to thank Eoin, Simon, Ken, Ciaran and Mark for their contributions to the station and wish them luck in their future endeavours.”

Station insiders claim the team disagreed with bosses about the future direction of the show, suggesting the OTB team were keen to move to an earlier slot.

When Marconi House bosses decided a switch in the scheduling wasn’t feasible and other slots and ‘financial incentives’ were offered, the situation came to a head, they say.

The team will make a statement soon.

George Hook, speaking on air this evening, said he was sorry to see his colleagues go but insisted they were off to look for ‘fame and fortune elsewhere’. One RTÉ spokesperson told that they do not speculate on programming.

The incredibly-popular nightly sports show has been running for over a decade.

- additional reporting Niall Kelly

Liverpool’s debts increase by ₤21.8million

New Blue? Here’s what you can expect from Jimmy Gopperth, Leinster fans

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.