Off The Ball

The next episode: Paddy Power open market on Team Off the Ball's next move

Are they off to RTÉ? Or is a TV gig coming down the line for the famous five of Irish sports radio?

IT’S THE QUESTION on every Irish sports fan’s lips tonight — what will be the next move for Team Off The Ball?

Newstalk confirmed today that the five men behind the award-winning show — Eoin McDevitt, Ciaran Murphy, Ken Early, Simon Hick and Mark Horgan — have left the station, effective immediately. The Off the Ball show, which has been running since 2002, will be anchored by sports editor Ger Gilroy along with Joe Molloy, Dave McIntyre and Cian Murtagh.

Paddy Power have opened a market on the next move for the famous five of sports broadcasting and installed RTE Radio as the 6/4 favourites to snap up Team OTB.

Is a TV deal in the offing? Or will the team strike out alone in the brave new world of digital-only broadcasting?

‘They never go home, those boys’: McDevitt and co already erased from Newstalk site

Here’s the Twitter reaction to the departure of the Off The Ball team

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.