The Boks are unchanged from last month's win over New Zealand. AP/Press Association Images

Springboks XV to face Ireland unchanged from win over All Blacks

Head coach Heyneke Meyer has the luxury of retaining all 15 men who started against the Kiwis.

SOUTH AFRICA COACH Heyneke Meyer has named exactly the same team that beat the All Blacks last month for Saturday’s November Test against Ireland in Dublin.

Former Munster centre Jean de Villiers captains the XV from midfield, where he is joined by 21-year-old Jan Serfontein. Fullback Willie le Roux is flanked by Cornal Hendricks and Bryan Habana in a potent back three.

20-year-old phenomenon Handre Pollard will steer the Boks from out-half again, starting outside Bulls scrum-half Francois Hougaard.

In the front row, hooker Bismarck du Plessis is joined by loosehead prop Tendai ‘The Beast’ Mtawarira and brother Jannie, while legendary lock Victor Matfield starts alongside Eben Etzebeth in the locking department.

Teboho Mohoje of the Cheetahs will win his fourth international cap in the seven jersey, with Marcel Coetzee and the hugely in-form Duane Vermeulen completing the back row.

On the bench, the injured Marcel van der Merwe is replaced by Coenie Oosthuizen, the only alteration to the match day squad after the Boks win over New Zealand.

The likes of Bakkies Botha, Adrian Strauss, Schalk Burger and JP Pietersen provide genuine experience as replacements, while out-half Pat Lambie has performed strongly in recent outings.

It’s only the fifth time in what will be the 34th Test since I was appointed as Springbok coach that we’ve been able to select an unchanged starting line-up,” said Meyer of his selection.

“In this day and age, not making changes to teams is pretty much unheard of, but this is a great position we’re in. However, we need to make it count against a very tough Irish side on Saturday.

“Although we won our last Test, the challenge this week is to make another step up. It’s imperative that we improve in all facets of our play.”

South Africa team to face Ireland:

15. Willie le Roux
14. Cornal Hendricks
13. Jan Serfontein
12. Jean de Villiers (capt.)
11. Bryan Habana
10. Handre Pollard
9. Francois Hougaard

1. Tendai Mtawarira
2. Bismarck du Plessis
3. Jannie du Plessis
4. Eben Etzebeth
5. Victor Matfield
6. Marcel Coetzee
7. Teboho Mohoje
8. Duane Vermeulen


16. Adriaan Strauss
17. Trevor Nyakane
18. Coenie Oosthuizen
19. Bakkies Botha
20. Schalk Burger
21. Cobus Reinach
22. Pat Lambie
23. JP Pietersen

Analysis: What’s so different about South Africa’s attack to before?

Kilcoyne picks the brains of BJ Botha ahead of powerful Boks test

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.