This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 18 September, 2018

Britton set to lead Ireland at European Cross Country Championships

The Irish athlete has been in good form recently, coming fourth in the VIII Cross de Atapuerca earlier this month

Fionnuala Britton (file photo).
Fionnuala Britton (file photo).

FIONNUALA BRITTON IS set to lead the Irish team at the upcoming European Cross Country Championships on 9 December in Budapest, Hungary, it has been confirmed.

Britton, who finished fourth in the VIII Cross de Atapuerca in Burgos, Spain earlier this month, will be joined on the team by Lizzie Lee (Leevale AC), Ava Hutchinson (Dundrum South Dublin AC), Sarah McCormack (Clonliffe Harriers AC), Linda Byrne (Dundrum South Dublin AC) and Sarah Louise Treacy (Moynalvey AC).

Meanwhile, Joe Sweeney (Dundrum South Dublin AC) has been rewarded for his recent performance at the Woodies DIY Inter County Cross Country National Championships with a place on the men’s team.

Sweeney will be joined by Michael Mulhare (Portlaoise AC), David Rooney (Raheny Shamrock AC), Brendan O’Neill (Dundrum South Dublin AC), Sean Hehir (Rathfarnham WSAF) and Brian Maher (KCH AC).

Una Britton (Kilcoole AC), sister of Fionnuala, features on the U23 team, with Laura Behan (KCK AC) set to compete alongside her.

Chris Johnston (Letterkenny AC) leads the men’s U23 team, having finished first at the national championships at the weekend, and the team also features David Fitzmaurice (Clonliffe Harriers AC), Patrick Hogan (Ferrybank AC), John Travers (Donore Harriers AC), Sam Mealy (Crusaders AC) and Shane Quinn (Ferrybank AC).

In addition, the junior women’s team features Sarah Collins (Finn Valley AC), Linda Conroy (Mullingar Harriers), Mary Mulhare (Portlaoise AC), Claire McCarthy (Dundrum South Dublin) and Mary Ann O’Sullivan (Tinryland AC), while the men’s side includes Stephan Kerr (Armagh AC), Sean Tobin (Clonmel AC), Ian Guiden (Clonliffe Harriers), Killian Mooney (Dundrum South Dublin) and Eoghan Totten (Newcastle AC).

Speaking ahead of the event, team manager Teresa McDaid said: “We have solid teams competing at this year’s championships with chances of quality performances at junior and senior level. For many of our juniors this is their first year competing in this age category and they will be looking to gain experience from this competition.”

Sweeney and Hutchinson claim national cross country honours>

Off the record: 5 sporting stories you may have missed this weekend>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel