This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 14 °C Thursday 24 May, 2018

Marmion returns as Connacht make 10 changes for Glasgow clash

The scrum-half is among the returning frontliners for the trip to Scotland.

PAT LAM HAS MADE 10 changes to his Connacht team for Saturday’s Guinness Pro12 meeting with Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun [KO 5.15pm, Sky Sports 2]

Kieran Marmion returns from Ireland duty to start at scrum-half as the western province face Gregor Townsend’s men, who are currently one place above seventh-placed Connacht in the championship.

Ireland’s Kieran Marmion Marmion is straight back in after his exploits against England last weekend. Source: Inpho/Billy Stickland

Tiernan O’Halloran is back in the 15 shirt, while Jack Carty returns to the out-half slot and Craig Ronaldson comes in at inside centre.

Denis Buckley and Finlay Bealham have been restored to Connacht’s front row, as Quinn Roux is selected in the second row, while Sean O’Brien, Jake Heenan and captain John Muldoon all return in the back row.

Ireland 7s international Josh Rowland is fit again and takes a place on the Connacht bench.

Meanwhile, Glasgow have been able to recall Scotland internationals Finn Russell and Stuart Hogg to their starting line-up, after both starred in the Six Nations.

Connacht (v Glasgow):

15. Tiernan O’Halloran
14. Niyi Adeolokun
13. Bundee Aki
12. Craig Ronaldson
11. Stacey Ili
10. Jack Carty
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Denis Buckley
2. Tom McCartney
3. Finlay Bealham
4. Quinn Roux
5. Andrew Browne
6. Sean O’Brien
7. Jake Heenan
8. John Muldoon (captain)


16. Dave Heffernan
17. Ronan Loughney
18. Dominic Robertson-McCoy
19. James Cannon
20. Naulia Dawai
21. John Cooney
22. Tom Farrell
23. Josh Rowland


15. Stuart Hogg
14. Sean Lamont
13. Nick Grigg
12. Peter Horne (captain)
11. Rory Hughes
10. Finn Russell
9. Ali Price

1. Alex Allan
2. Corey Flynn
3. Sila Puafisi
4. Tim Swinson
5. Brian Alainu’uese
6. Rob Harley
7. Matt Smith
8. Adam Ashe


16. Fraser Brown
17. Gordon Reid
18. D’arcy Rae
19. Scott Cummings
20. Lewis Wynne
21. George Horne
22. Alex Dunbar
23. Peter Murchie

Referee: Ian Davies [WRU].

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Carolan a smart addition for Connacht but leaves U20s in promising place

Pat Lam thrilled to see Marmion stop being ‘stunt double’ to slip into starting role for Ireland

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel