CONNACHT ENJOYED A dramatic late win over Wasps on Saturday night, with Jack Carty kicking the winning conversion after Naulia Dawai scored a vital try in the 82nd minute.
But the European Professional Club Rugby today announced that the try should not have counted.
The assistant referee, who took over from the injured Jerome Garces, allowed Connacht to take a line-out after they kicked the ball to touch. The rules state that the game should have ended when the ball went dead as the 80 minutes were up.
Connacht went on to score the game-saving try from the resulting line-out, and the EPCR today confirmed that the results stands, despite the officiating error.
“EPCR would like to clarify an issue arising from yesterday’s European Rugby Champions Cup, Round 4 match between Connacht Rugby and Wasps at The Sportsground,” read the statement.
“The assistant referee, who had taken over as match referee following an injury to Jerome Garces, awarded a penalty to Connacht after time had elapsed. Connacht kicked the ball into touch and from the resultant line-out, scored a converted try to win the game 20-18.
“However, as time had elapsed, Connacht should not have been permitted to take a line-out throw-in once the ball had been kicked into touch as stipulated in Law 5.7 (e) of World Rugby’s Laws of the Game.
“EPCR would like to thank all parties for their understanding and would also like to confirm that the result of the Pool 2 match stands.”
The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!