This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2018

Shane Kingston among 5 players to make first start against the All-Ireland champions

Kieran Kingston has selected his team for the Munster opener.

FIVE YOUNGSTERS WILL make their full championship debuts for Cork in Sunday’s Munster SHC quarter-final against Tipperary.

Colm Spillane, Mark Coleman, Darragh Fitzgibbon, Shane Kingston and Luke Meade will all make their first start at this level, although Kingston and Coleman featured off the bench last summer.

Nine players who started the nine-point defeat to the Premier a year ago retain their places.

Here’s how Kieran Kingston side will start:


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk

2. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
3. Damian Cahalane (St Finbarr’s
4. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons

5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
9. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)

10. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
11. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
15. Luke Meade (Newcestown)


16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
17. Conor O Sullivan (Sarsfields)
18. Killian Burke (Midleton)
19. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk)
20. Chris O Leary (Valley Rovers)
21. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
22. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers)
23. Luke O Farrell (Midleton)
24. Michael Cahalane (Bandon)
25. Michael O’ Halloran (Blackrock)
26. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Starts for Curran and O’Keeffe as Tipp name 13 of the All-Ireland winning team for Cork clash

Kingston and O’Loughlin lead strong Laois team to play Longford

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel