This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 19 October, 2018

Dublin edge out Clare in play-off to book All-Ireland quarter-final spot

The Dubs progress to a last-eight meeting with Wexford on Monday.

Clare’s Aoife Keane and Rose Collins of Dublin.
Clare’s Aoife Keane and Rose Collins of Dublin.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Dublin 1-11
Clare 0-12

Eoin Brennan reports from Semple Stadium

DUBLIN FINALLY EMERGED as the last quarter-finalist in this year’s All-Ireland senior camogie championship in Semple Stadium this afternoon thanks to a strong finish.

Following a tumultuous week in which both sides withdrew from the competition on Wendesday rather than have to draw lots to decide who would face Wexford after the counties had finished level on points and also on the head-to-head, common sense finally prevailed from the National Camogie Association with this winners-takes-all showdown that proved an inch-tight affair just like their 1-8 to 1-8 group draw.

Ironically, there was only a toss of a coin between the teams throughout as the sides were level on seven occasions before Dublin finally secured victory in injury-time.

Rachel Doctor and Kate Lynch with Cathal Egan Dublin’s Rachel Noctor and Kate Lynch of Clare watch referee Cathal Egan's coin toss. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

The sides were level four times during the first half that would also finish deadlocked at 0-8 to 1-5.

Wind-assisted Clare certainly started on the front foot with the first three points of the game inside five minutes through Chloe Morey (2) and Eimear Kelly, only for Dublin to cancel it out in the next passage of play as the ball was worked through Siobhan Kehoe and Aine Fanning before finding Louise O’Hara unmarked at the back post to fire to the net at 1-0 to 0-3.

It would be an inspirational score as the Dubs would soon hit the front for the first time thanks to successive points from Sarah O’Donovan and Fanning by the 11th minute, a two-point advantage that they would maintain into the second quarter despite two glorious goal opportunities for the Banner.

Chloe Morey would be on the end of both — first flicking an Aoife Keane delivery just past the post while only minutes later seeing a first time pull somehow tipped away by goalkeeper Sile Nic Coitir.

Clare did finish with four of the last six points of the half however, two from unerring free-taker Morey to ensure that the sides would be on level terms entering the dressing rooms.

Alison Maguire and Miriam Twomey with Andrea OÕKeeffe Dublin’s Alison Maguire and Miriam Twomey with Andrea O’Keeffe of Clare. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

That blow for blow pattern would continue on the restart as on three occasions Dublin attempted to pull clear with the aid of the conditions only for their stubborn opponents to reel them in.

However, an Alison Maguire free nudged Dublin 1-10 to 0-12 clear in the 54th minute, a lead that they would hold despite some nervy moments at the back before substitute Aisling Maher secured the Dubs passage to the quarter-final against Wexford in Carlow in only two days’ time.

Scorers for Dublin: Louise O’Hara 1-0 Alison Maguire 0-3 (2f, 1’45); Aine Fanning, Siobhan Kehoe, Aisling Maher 0-2 each; Sarah O’Donovan, Laoise Quinn 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: Chloe Morey 0-7 (7f); Emma O’Driscoll 0-2; Eimear Kelly, Aoife Keane, Andrea O’Keeffe 0-1 each.


1. Síle Nic Coitir (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

2. Catriona Power (Naomh Mearnóg)
3. Rose Collins (Naomh Brid)
4. Aisling Carolan (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh)

5. Elaine O’Meara (Na Fianna)
6. Alison Maguire (St Vincent’s)
7. Laura Twomey (Naomh Mearnóg)

8. Miriam Twomey (Naomh Mearnóg)
9. Orlaith Durkin (Skerries Harps)

10. Laoise Quinn (St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh)
11. Sarah O’Donovan (St Vincent’s)
12. Louise O’Hara (Erin’s Isle)

13. Emma Flanagan (Lucan Sarsfields)
14. Áine Fanning (St Vincent’s)
15. Siobhan Kehoe (Naomh Fionnbarra)


16. Aisling Maher (St Vincent’s) for Flanagan (half-time)
27. Martha O’Donoghue (Ballyboden St Enda’s) for Durkin (34)
17. Ali Twomey (Lucan Sarsfields) for O’Hara (58)
18. Aoife Bugler (St Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruadh) for Fanning (58)
26. Mairi Moynihan (Lucan Sarsfields) for O’Donovan (61)


1. Denise Lynch (Kilmaley)

4. Aoife Griffin (Newmarket-on-Fergus)
22. Carol O’Leary (Newmarket-on-Fergus)
2. Emma O’Connell (Ballyea)

8. Kate Lynch (Kilkishen)
5. Orlaith Duggan (Clooney-Quin)
9. Clare Hehir (Inagh-Kilnamona)

3. Maire McGrath (Sixmilebridge)
6. Roisin McMahon (Newmarket-on-Fergus)

10. Andrea O’Keeffe (Inagh-Kilnamona)
11. Eimear Kelly (Truagh Clonlara)
24. Emma O’Driscoll (Kilmaley)

27. Naomi Carroll (Sixmilebridge)
14. Chloe Morey (Sixmilebridge)
23. Aoife Keane (Inagh-Kilnamona)


15. Amy Keating (Inagh-Kilnamona) for Kelly (half-time)

Referee: Cathal Egan (Cork)

What will Dublin’s footballers learn against Fermanagh on Sunday?

Dublin unchanged for Fermanagh quarter-final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Eoin Brennan

Read next: