The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 21 February, 2018

Hoolahan included but Arter and Clark out of Ireland squad to face Wales

Uncapped players Andy Boyle, Daryl Horgan, Conor Hourihane and John Egan make the cut.

Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Updated at 22.36

WES HOOLAHAN HAS been included in the final Ireland squad to face Wales, though Harry Arter and Ciaran Clark have been ruled out.

The duo miss out through injury, while Hoolahan remains in the final squad despite coming off during Norwich’s match at the weekend with a calf strain.

Uncapped players Andy Boyle, Daryl Horgan, Conor Hourihane and John Egan make the cut, as does James McCarthy, who has been struggling with injuries lately.

Injury has, however, also ruled out Rob Elliot (knee), Paul McShane (hamstring), Liam Kelly (hamstring) and David McGoldrick (knee).

More to follow

Republic of Ireland Squad
Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph, Keiren Westwood, Colin Doyle
Defenders: Seamus Coleman, Cyrus Christie, Richard Keogh, Alex Pearce, John O’Shea, Andy Boyle, John Egan, Stephen Ward.
Midfielders: Aiden McGeady, Glenn Whelan, James McCarthy, Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady, Conor Hourihane, David Meyler, Eunan O’Kane, Wes Hoolahan, James McClean, Jonathan Hayes, Daryl Horgan, Callum O’Dowda
Forwards: Jonathan Walters, Shane Long, Daryl Murphy, Kevin Doyle

Robbie Brady caps a remarkable year by walking away with litany of FAI accolades>

From Messi to McCann: Irish midfielder on being coached by Barca’s ex-boss and a new MLS life>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel