This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 24 May, 2018

Michael Murphy helps Glenswilly reach their first ever Ulster final

The Donegal champions defeated Fermanagh’s Roslea in today’s semi-final.

Michael Murphy in action against James Sherry.
Michael Murphy in action against James Sherry.
Image: INPHO/Presseye/Andrew Paton

Glenswilly (Donegal) 3-9
Roslea (Fermanagh) 2-8

MICHAEL MURPHY WAS amongst the goalscorers as Glenswilly reached their first ever AIB Ulster club senior football final with a semi-final win today at Healy Park in Omagh.

They held off the challenge of Fermanagh’s Roslea to set up a final meeting with Derry champions Ballinderry on December 1st.

Glenswilly only won their first Donegal title two years ago but are now dreaming of provincial glory as they followed up their quarter-final win over Antrim’s St Gall’s by triumphing in today’s game.

Colin Kelly bagged two goals to help the Donegal champions succeed with his first goal and the strike from Murphy helping Glenswilly lead by 2-5 to 0-5 at the break.

The pair combined for Glenswilly’s third goal after half-time when Kelly diverted a free from Murphy to the net.

Roslea trailed at that juncture by eight points, 3-6 to 0-7, but to their credit they refused to throw in the towel.

Attacker Seamus Quigley fired a penalty to the net and then in the 46th minute Conor Mulligan followed that up by grabbing another goal.

Glenswilly’s credentials were severely tested as their lead had been cut to two points. But they kept their nerve to close out the game with a series of points to advance to the decider.

GLENSWILLY: P O’Donnell; B McDaid, E Ward, J McDaid; J Gibbons 0-1, J McFadden, R Crawford; N Gallagher, M Murphy 1-2, 2f; G McFadden 0-3, 2f, C Bonner 0-1, D McGinley 0-1; Caolan Kelly, Colin Kelly 2-1, K McFadden.

Subs: B Farrelly for McGinley 52 , C Gallagher for Colin Kelly 55 , R Diver for K McFadden 59, B Molloy for Gibbons 60.

ROSLEA: S Boyle; N McMahon, C Mulligan 1-0, C Quigley; M Beagan, N Cassidy, J McMahon 0-1; K Cosgrove 0-1, J Sherry; N Cosgrove, S McMahon, P Lynch 0-1; M Renfrew, Seamus Quigley 1-4, 1-0pen, 2f, Sean Quigley.

Subs: D Reilly 0-1 for N McMahon 25 , C Sherlock for S
McMahon 44 , S Lynch for J McMahon 55 .

Referee: C Branigan Down.


Michael Murphy hits the net for Glenswilly
Pic: INPHO/Presseye/Andrew Paton

Ballinderry reach first Ulster club final in five years

Cratloe win Munster semi-final…24 hours after winning first Clare title

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel