This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2018


22,535 Views 14 Comments

WERE TIPPERARY GOING to keep their winning run going or would Galway recover from their Connacht final defeat?

It was the second of a double-header of football qualifier games in Tullamore and we were following the action all the way.

As always, we’d love to hear your comments. Send them to, tweet them @TheScoreGAA, find us on Facebook, or leave a comment below.

RESULT: Galway 4-17 Tipperary 4-12


Welcome along to our coverage of tonight’s second game from Tullamore.

Here’s the Tipperary team that is named to start:

1. Paul Fitzgerald Fethard

2. John Coghlan Moyne Templetuohy
3. Paddy Codd (Killenaule)
4. Ciarán McDonald (Aherlow)

5. Colin O’Riordan (J K Brackens)
6. Robbie Kiely (Arravale Rovers)
7. Ger Mulhair (Aravale Rovers)

8. Steven O’Brien (Ballina)
9. George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers)

10. Michael Quinlivan (Commercials)
11. Brian Fox (Eire Óg Annacarty)
12. Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers)

13. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)
14. Barry Grogan (Aherlow)
15. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)

Derry’s Barry Cassidy is the referee today.

Here’s the Galway team named to start

1. Tomás Healy (Corofin)

2. Donal O’Neill (Cortoon Shamrocks)
3. Finian Hanley (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
4. Joss Moore (Mountbellew-Moylough)

5. Gareth Bradshaw (Moycullen)
6. Gary O’Donnell (Tuam Stars)
7. Paul Varley (Cortoon Shamrocks)

8. Fiontán O’Curraoin (Micheal Breathnach)
9. Thomas Flynn (Athenry)

10. Michael Lundy (Corofin)
11. Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin-Clonberne)
12. James Kavanagh (Miltown)

13. Michael Martin (Miltown)
14. Paul Conroy (St James – Captain)
15. Danny Cummins (Claregalway)

We’re getting set for throw-in here, who’s your tip for victory?

Early scoring chances for Galway but they miss a couple of good opportunities to hit the front.

Tipperary off target as well through Philip Austin.

Galway 0-1 Tipperary 0-0: 6 mins – Finally we get the opening score of the game and it’s captain Paul Conroy who steps up to the mark to point for Galway.

Galway 0-1 Tipperary 0-1: 8 mins – Now Tipperary draw level and it’s courtesy of Peter Acheson.

Galway 0-2 Tipperary 0-1: 11 mins – Michael Martin restores Galway’s lead.

Tipperary 0-3 Galway 0-2: 13 mins – Good spell from Tipperary yields points from Acheson from play and then Sweeney from a free.

Galway 0-3 Tipperary 0-3: 15 mins – All square again as good play by Galway, particularly from Shane Walsh, yields the opening for Danny Cummins to fire over off his left.

Tipperary 0-4 Galway 0-3: 17 mins – Midfielder Stephen O’Brien comes forward to land a fine point for Tipperary.

An interested spectator here is Kerry boss Eamon Fitzmaurice. The winners of this face his team next Sunday at 2pm in Croke Park.

Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Tipperary 0-5 Galway 0-3: 18 mins – Another fine point for Tipperary, this time from Barry Grogan.

Tipperary 0-5 Galway 0-4: 19 mins – Michael Lundy pulls a point back for Galway.

Tipperary 0-6 Galway 0-4: 21 mins – Quality play from Colin O’Riordan as he shows superb composure to settle himself before pointing as the Galway defence challenged.

Tipperary 0-6 Galway 0-6: 29 mins – Conroy and Walsh bring Galway level with points but Cummins nearly grabbed a goal as well but was foiled by the woodwork.

That was outrageous skill by Walsh for that point for Galway. Really impressive stuff as he trapped the ball with his right before spinning and scoring off his left.

Goal for Galway from Fiontan O Curraoin!

Galway 1-6 Tipperary 0-6: 33 mins – Big moment in this game with a superb team move culminating in O Curraoin charging forward from midfield and shooting low to the net.

Subs: Ian Fahey for Ger Mulhair for Tipperary while Daithi Burke replaces Gary O’Donnell on the Galway side.

Galway 1-7 Tipperary 0-7: 35 mins – Points are swapped with Michael Qulnlivan clipping over a beautiful point from his left for Tipperary before Walsh knocks over a free for Galway.

Goal for Galway from Tom Flynn!

Half-Time: Galway 2-7 Tipperary 0-7

Six point lead for Galway at the break with those goals from Galway midfielders Fiontan O Curraoin and Thomas Flynn proving vital in seperating the sides.

Back underway for the second-half in Tullamore.

Third goal for Galway!

And another goal for Galway from Michael Lundy!

Galway 4-8 Tipperary 0-8: 38 mins – Disastrous start to the second-half for Galway as Cummins smashes a blistering drive to the net and then Lundy fires home as Galway work it through. Then Michael Martin points before O’Riordan responds with a point for Tipperary.

Galway 4-10 Tipperary 0-8: 42 mins – Walsh from a free and Martin from play stretch Galway’s lead.

Galway 4-11 Tipperary 0-9: 43 mins – Points swapped by George Hannigan and Paul Varley.

Sub: Michael Quinlivan replaced by Colman Kennedy on the Tipperary team.

Galway 4-11 Tipperary 0-10: 45 mins – Sweeney knocks over a free for Tipperary.

Galway 4-11 Tipperary 1-10: 47 mins – Boost for Tipperary as Brian Fox fires home a splendid goal. Probably should have got a black card though moments earlier.

Galway 4-12 Tipperary 1-10: 48 mins – Beautiful point by Shane Walsh for Galway.

Sub: Alan Campbell in for Tipperary for Grogan while Galway bring in Sean Armstrong for Cummins.

Galway 4-12 Tipperary 1-11: 51 mins – The gap is back to 10 points again as Sweeney taps over a free for Tipperary.

Black card for Tipperary’s Steven O’Brien.

Hugh Coghlan will come on for O’Brien.

Sub: Adrian Varley in for Galway for Michael Martin.

Galway 4-13 Tipperary 1-11: 58 mins – Adrian Varley feeds Armstrong and he punches over a fine point for Galway.

Subs: Galway bring in Damien Comer and John O’Brien for Lundy and Kavanagh.

Tipperary chalk up their 11th wide of the evening as Conor Sweeney’s effort from a ’45 goes astray.

Sub: Brian Mulvihill is on for Ian Fahey for Tipperary.

Galway 4-14 Tipperary 1-11: 62 mins – Damien Comer clips over a point for Galway.

Galway 4-14 Tipperary 1-12: 63 mins – Conor Sweeney with another Tipp free.

Sub: Sean Flynn is in for Austin.

Goal for Brian Mulvihill!

Galway 4-15 Tipperary 2-12: 65 mins – Paul Conroy notches a point in response for Galway.

Nearly a third Tipperary goal but a superb save by Thomas Healy to deny Acheson.

A third Tipperary goal from Colin O’Riordan!

Galway 4-15 Tipperary 3-12: 67 mins – Brilliant heart by Tipperary as they notch another goal with Colin O’Riordan getting forward to smash home .

Galway 4-16 Tipperary 3-12: 68 mins -Shane Walsh points a free for Galway and then gets the Sky Sports MOTM award.

Galway 4-17 Tipperary 3-12: 70 mins – Armstrong notches another point for Galway.

Galway 4-17 Tipperary 4-12: 70 mins – Conor Sweeney smashes home a penalty for Tipperary!

Full-Time: Galway 4-17 Tipperary 4-12

What a dramatic game with eight goals registered and Galway eventually prevailing by 4-17 to 4-12. They now play Kerry in next Sunday’s quarter-final.

That’s all from us today, thanks for joining in.

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole