This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 14 °C Thursday 24 May, 2018

Tipperary's Cathal Barrett to make first start of the year in Sunday's league semi with Wexford

All-Ireland winning captain Brendan Maher is also back in the team but Bubbles O’Dwyer misses out due to injury.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

TIPPERARY’S CATHAL BARRETT will make his first start of the year in Sunday’s Allianz Hurling League semi-final against Wexford.

After coming on as a replacement in the quarter-final victory over Offaly, he is back in Michael Ryan’s starting XV and slots into his usual corner-back role after an ankle injury kept him on the sidelines since late last year.

There’s one more change in defence as Michael Cahill takes the number four jersey.

Elsewhere, All-Ireland winning captain Brendan Maher is also back after injury and starts alongside Jason Forde in midfield.

Meanwhile, John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer has lost his battle to be fit for the weekend clash and Steven O’Brien deputises at half-forward.

The game throws in at Nolan Park at 4pm on Sunday.

Tipperary team to face Wexford in Allianz League semi-final:

1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)
3. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)

5. Seamus Kennedy (St. Marys)
6. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields – Capt)

8. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
9. Jason Forde (Silvermines)

10. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
11. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
12. Steven O’Brien (Ballina)

13. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
14. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
15. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)

Dublin stick with Leinster final history-makers for U21 semi showdown

Gavin v McGuinness: The 2010 encounter between the men who would change the landscape of Gaelic football

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Eoin O'Callaghan

Read next: