MARK ALLEN CRASHED out of the first round of the World Snooker Championships in a controversial 10-6 defeat against China’s Cao Yupeng.
In his post-match press conference, the Antrim native alleged that Yupeng had failed to call a penalty against himself for a push shot when the match was poised at 5-4.
Referee Paul Collier did not penalise Yupeng for the incident and the world number 81 went on to win the frame and the match, setting up a second round meeting against Ryan Day or his fellow countryman Ding Junhui.
“I thought the big turning point in the match was at 5-4 when he was in the balls and Paul Collier, the referee, missed a blatant push,” Allen said afterwards (audio here).
“It was quite obvious to me and anyone who was watching at home who could probably see that no problem.
“If the referee rightfully called a foul there I’d have had a chance of going to 5-5 and the match would have been different but he went on to pull away to 7-4 and that was massive.”
Allen named two other Chinese players who he alleged had committed similar offences in the past.
It seems to be a bit of a trait for the Chinese players because there’ve been instances in the past, of fouls and blatant cheating going on. It needs to be corrected because he’s a good enough player and he doesn’t have to do that.
He did look at the referee as soon as he done it as if to say, ‘Are you not calling a foul here?’
Despite his comments, Allen conceded that Yupeng had been the better player and deserved his win.
“All credit to him. That was one shot in the match, it was a big time in the match but he completely outplayed me and he thoroughly deserved to win. I’m not taking anything away from him.
“I think if you look back over the whole course of the two sessions he was definitely a worthy winner. I just didn’t turn up.”
Watch an edited version of Allen’s comments:
YouTube Credit: BetfredWorldSnooker
And the incident in the 10th frame:
YouTube Credit: PremGoal