The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: -1 °C Wednesday 21 February, 2018

Maurice Shanahan dropped as Derek McGrath names Waterford team for Kilkenny

Jake Dillon comes in for Saturday’s Semple showdown.

There's no place for Shanahan in Saturday's team.
There's no place for Shanahan in Saturday's team.
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

WATERFORD MANAGER DEREK McGrath has dropped Maurice Shanahan for Saturday’s All-Ireland senior hurling championship qualifier against Kilkenny.

The Lismore forward has been replaced by Jake Dillon in the Déise side for the round two clash at Semple Stadium in Thurles.

It’s the only change in personnel McGrath has made following his team’s comfortable 24-point victory over Offaly in the last round.

Kilkenny are due to name their team tomorrow evening.

Throw in on Saturday is at 7pm.

Waterford (v Kilkenny):

1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

5. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
9. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)

10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
11. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)
12. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)

13. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
14. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
15. Darragh Fives (Tourin)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

All-Ireland champions Tipp make two changes for qualifier showdown with Dublin

‘It’s pure and utter elation and you are not thinking about anything else’ – the Munster senior goal

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel