This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 21 October, 2018

Youngster Nash set for debut as much-changed Munster face Edinburgh

The winger is one of 11 changes to Rassie Erasmus’ side with a number of players away on international duty.

Calvin Nash makes his Munster debut on Friday.
Calvin Nash makes his Munster debut on Friday.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

PROMISING YOUNG WINGER Calvin Nash will make his Munster debut in the Pro12 clash against Edinburgh on Friday evening at Myreside (7.35pm).

Nash is in his first year of the academy and has produced a series of impressive displays with Munster A and his club side Young Munster.

He is one of 11 changes to Rassie Erasmus’ side with a number of players away on international duty.

Another academy player, Dan Goggin, continues his midfield partnership with Francis Saili, after they were previously paired together against Connacht last December.

Duncan Williams comes in at scrumhalf with Tyler Bleyendaal captaining the side at 10, while Jaco Taute switches to fullback.

In the forwards, lock Jean Kleyn is the only player who remains from the side that beat Racing 92 in the Champions Cup last month, while Dave Foley starts alongside him after recovering from a wrist injury.

Peter McCabe makes his first Munster start in the front row alongside hooker Rhys Marshall and prop Stephen Archer, who will make his 100th Pro12 appearance.

Meanwhile, the back row features Dave O’Callaghan, Conor Oliver and Jack O’Donoghue.

In addition, Dave Kilcoyne, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell and Rory Scannell, all of whom returned from Ireland camp this week, feature on the bench.


15. Jaco Taute
14. Calvin Nash
13. Francis Saili
12. Dan Goggin
11. Ronan O’Mahony
10. Tyler Bleyendaal (captain)
9. Duncan Williams

1. Peter McCabe
2. Rhys Marshall
3. Stephen Archer
4. Jean Kleyn
5. Dave Foley
6. Dave O’Callaghan
7. Conor Oliver
8. Jack O’Donoghue


16. Kevin O’Byrne
17. Dave Kilcoyne
18. Brian Scott
19. Darren O’Shea
20. Billy Holland
21. Tommy O’Donnell
22. Angus Lloyd
22. Rory Scannell

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Sam Warburton starts for Wales against Italy>

From youth to experience: 5 women who will be key to Ireland’s Six Nations chances>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel