leading lights

Here's the 2014 Allstar football team - 5 for Kerry, 4 for Donegal, 3 each for Dublin and Mayo

There are six first-time winners in this year’s Allstar team.

Kieran Donaghy celebrates scoring a goal with James OÕDonoghue Morgan Treacy / INPHO Kieran Donaghy and James O'Donoghue have both been honoured. Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

FIVE FOR All-Ireland champions Kerry, four for All-Ireland finalists Donegal and three apiece for beaten semi-finalists Dublin and Mayo.

That’s the breakdown from the 2014 GAA-GPA Opel Allstar football awards, which have been officially announced this morning. The awards will be presented at tomorrow night’s banquet, where the hurling team will also be revealed.

Kerry lead the way with Paul Murphy, Peter Crowley, David Moran, Kieran Donaghy and James O’Donoghue all honoured. Donegal land four awards through Paul Durcan, Neil McGee, Neil Gallagher and Michael Murphy.

Paul Durcan and Michael Murphy celebrate Cathal Noonan / INPHO Donegal's Paul Durcan and Michael Murphy. Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

Last year’s champions Dublin get awards for James McCarthy, Paul Flynn and Diarmuid Connolly. Finally Mayo trio Keith Higgins, Colm Boyle and Cillian O’Connor will all get recognized for their performances as well.

There are six first-time winners in Paul Murphy, James McCarthy, Peter Crowley, David Moran, Diarmuid Connolly and Cillian O’Connor. Only four players survive from last year’s Allstar team in Higgins, Boyle, Flynn and O’Donoghue.

For Higgins and Flynn, it is further evidence of their remarkable consistency. Higgins wins his third successive award while Flynn lands an Allstar for a fourth year in a row.

Paul Flynn with Keith Higgins Ê Morgan Treacy / INPHO More Allstar awards for Keith Higgins and Paul Flynn. Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

Kieran Donaghy wins his third Allstar, eight years after his first and six years after he last won.

The team in full is as follows – (previous years of award wins in brackets):

2014 GAA-GPA Allstar football team

Paul Durcan (Donegal) – 2nd award (2012)

Full-Back Line
Paul Murphy (Kerry) – 1st award
Neil McGee (Donegal) – 3rd award (2011 and 2012)
Keith Higgins (Mayo) – 3rd award (2012 and 2013)

Half-Back Line
James McCarthy (Dublin) – 1st award
Peter Crowley (Kerry) – 1st award
Colm Boyle (Mayo) – 2nd award (2013)

David Moran (Kerry) – 1st award
Neil Gallagher (Donegal) – 2nd award (2012)

Half-Forward Line
Paul Flynn (Dublin) – 4th award (2011, 2012 and 2013)
Michael Murphy (Donegal) – 2nd award (2012)
Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin) – 1st award

Full-Forward Line
Cillian O’Connor (Mayo) – 1st award
Kieran Donaghy (Kerry) – 3rd award (2006 and 2008)
James O’Donoghue (Kerry) – 2nd award (2013)

Open Thread: We’ve picked our 2014 Allstar football team but what’s your prediction?

Eamon McGee says Jim McGuinness’s Donegal departure was ‘like your woman walking out on you’

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.