Dublin: 11°C Friday 22 October 2021

Clarke edges out Cluxton as the 2017 All-Star football team is named

7 awards for Dublin and 6 for Mayo.

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Dublin have seven players on the 2017 PwC All-Star football which was announced this evening.

Beaten finalists Mayo have six players on the team, while Tyrone’s Colm Cavanagh and Kerry’s Paul Geaney are the only two players to make the team who didn’t feature in September.

Dublin have recipients in Michael Fitzsimons, Cian O’Sullivan, Jack McCaffrey, James McCarthy, Dean Rock, Con O’Callaghan and Paul Mannion.

Mayo’s winners are David Clarke, Chris Barrett, Keith Higgins, Colm Boyle, Aidan O’Shea and Andy Moran.

There are five first-time All-Stars in there — Barrett, Fitzsimons, Cavanagh, O’Callaghan and Mannion.

Higgins collected his fifth award, while Boyle and O’Sullivan picked up their fourth gong.

2017 PwC All-Star Football Team of the Year

1. David Clarke (Mayo)

2. Chris Barrett (Mayo)
3. Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin)
4. Keith Higgins (Mayo)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

5. Colm Boyle (Mayo)
6. Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin)
7. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

8. Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)
9. James McCarthy (Dublin)

10. Dean Rock (Dublin)
11. Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)
12. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)

13. Paul Mannion (Dublin)
14. Paul Geaney (Kerry)
15. Andy Moran (Mayo)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Derry dual star Rodgers and ex-Antrim ace Watson among big names on Champion 15 selections

Poll: Canning, Barron or Moran – Who deserves to win Hurler of the Year tonight?

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel