This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Saturday 19 October, 2019

Zebo and Marmion among 11 cut from Schmidt’s 6 Nations squad

The winger had been called up as cover following Keith Earls’ knee injury.

Simon Zebo follows Dave Kilcoyne into the airport.
Simon Zebo follows Dave Kilcoyne into the airport.
Image: INPHO

Updated 15.21

FOLLOWING SATURDAY NIGHT’S Wolfhounds win over the England Saxons, Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt has culled 11 names from his training squad ahead of Sunday’s Six Nations clash against Scotland.

The training squad in Carton House this week has been trimmed to 34 names with Simon Zebo, Kieran Marmion, Robbie Diack and Rodney Ah You among those allowed to return to their province.

Keith Earls, who was part of the original squad, has been ruled out through injury and his replacement Craig Gilroy has not made it into consideration this week.

Munster props Stephen Archer and Dave Kilcoyne will also sit out this week along with hookers Rob Herring and Damien Varley.

Man-of-the-match in the Wolfhounds win in Gloucester, Isaac Boss misses the cull as does Munster out-half Ian Keatley.

Cardiff Blues number eight Robin Copeland and Leinster duo Jordi Murphy and Martin Moore are the uncapped players in the squad of 34.

Ireland’s Six Nations squad

Forwards (18):

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster), Robin Copeland (Cardiff Blues), Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster), Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster), Mike McCarthy (Lansdowne/Leinster), Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)*, Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster), Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster), Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster), Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster), Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster), Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster), Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster).

Backs (16)

Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster), Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster), Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht), Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster), Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster), Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster), David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster), Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster), Luke Marshall, (Ballynahinch/Ulster), Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Conor Murray, (Garryowen/Munster), Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster), Eoin Reddan, (Lansdowne/Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92), Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster).

- Originally posted 14.32.

Super Saturday in store as Heineken Cup announce 1/4 final kick-off times

IRFU announce new six-year multi million euro kit deal with Canterbury

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: