Hayes on the double as Cavan clinch first All-Ireland junior title for 87 years

Tom Hayes was the hero for the Breffni today.

Image: @CavanCoBoardGAA via Twitter

Cavan 2-14

Kerry 0-14

CAVAN ARE THE All-Ireland Junior Football champions for the first time since 1927.

A goal in either half from hero Tom Hayes proved to be decisive as the Breffni men beat Kerry 2-14 to 0-14.

There was little to choose between the sides in a tight first half in Portlaoise with Hayes’ first on 20 minutes giving Cavan a four-point advantage at the break, 1-7 to 0-6.

A second from the Cootehill man stretched that gap to seven with 21 minutes to play.

But even with a slight wind at their backs, Kerry found each of their scores matched by Cavan in that second half.

They were never closer than six points and so, 87 years after their only other success in the competition, the All-Ireland Junior Championship Cup is Cavan’s once more.


1. James Farrelly

2. Damien Barkey
3. James Morris
4. Fergal Reilly

5. Ciaran Brady
6. Brian Sankey
7. Paul Smith

8. Liam Buchanan
9. Packie Leddy (c)

23. Conor Moynagh
11. Chris Conroy
12. Enda Reilly

13. Tom Hayes
14. Enda Hession
15. Paul O’Connor

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member


1. Shane Murphy

2. Michael Brennan
3. Kevin O’Dwyer
4. Danny Wrenn

5. Greg Gibson
6. Denis Daly
7. Gavin Crowley

8. Andrew Garnett
9. Brendan O’Sullivan

10. Philip O’Connor
11. Ciaran Keating
12. Brian Crowley

13. Gavan O’Grady
14. Paul Kennelly
15. Thomas Hickey (c)

Antrim annihilated as ruthless Clare close in on U21 hurling treble

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next: