Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 6°C Thursday 6 May 2021

Heartbreak for Antrim as late Kenny goal helps Offaly advance in SHC

The Faithful County managed to overturn a five-point deficit in the final 10 minutes in Ballycastle.

Conor McKinley with Offaly's Conor Mahon today.
Conor McKinley with Offaly's Conor Mahon today.
Image: Presseye/William Cherry/INPHO

Offaly 2 – 19

Antrim 1 – 20

DAVID KENNY’S GOAL deep into injury-time earned Offaly a dramatic Senior Hurling Championship qualifier win over Antrim in Ballycastle.

The Saffrons had held a two-point lead entering the added time, but a contentious free awarded by referee James McGrath led to the killer goal from the Belmont man.

The game had been closely contested throughout, with Antrim leading the way for long stretches having taken a 13 point to 10 lead into the half-time break.

After the turnaround, Kenny netted his and the game’s first goal to level the contest at 0 – 14 to 1 – 11. But despite falling behind to the next score, the Ulstermen refused to wilt and would go on to score four unanswered points to reclaim pole position before PJ O’Connell’s 57th minute goal had them five ahead.

From that point on, though, Offaly denied the Saffron County to just a single score while they chipped away at the gap between the sides. And with just two entering the final stage of the game, Kenny was able to flick Brian Carroll’s free into the net and Offaly into the hat for the next round of the Senior Hurling Championship.


Offaly:  D Kenny (2-00) J Bergin (0-05, 2f),B Carroll (0-4, 0-2f, 2 65) , S Dooley (0-03), C Egan (0-02);, D Currams (0-01), C Parlon (0-01); C Mahon (0-01), D Morkan (0-01), S Cleary (0-01).Antrim:  P Shiels (0-08, 4f, 1 65), PJ O’Connell (1-02), C Clarke (0-03), N McAuley (0-01), N McManus (0-01, 1f); T McCann (0-01), J McGreevy (0-01), C McCann (0-01), M Bradley (0-01), S McAfee (0-01).

Offaly: J Dempsey; N Wynne, R Hanniffy, C McDonald; K Brady, G Healion, C Parlon; C Mahon, S Ryan; S Dooley, D Kenny, C Egan; B Carroll, D Currams, J Bergin.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Subs: D Morkan for Ryan (30); E Nolan for Wynne (46); S Cleary for Dooley (55); K Connolly for Healion (64).

Antrim: C O’Connell; O McFadden, C McKinley, A Graffin; S McCrory, N McAuley, N McManus; T McCann, J McGreevy; C Carson, P Shiels, C McCann; D Hamill, C Clarke, PJ O’Connell.

Subs: M Bradley for McCrory (21); S McAfee for Hamill (47); D McKernan for McGreevy (53); N McKenna for McAuley (60); C McGuinness for PJ O’Connell (64).

Referee: James McGrath (Westmeath)

Down notch dominant win over Leitrim to advance in All-Ireland qualifiers

Costello shoots the Dubs to the Leinster final as Wexford prove no match

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next: