Dublin: 12°C Saturday 18 September 2021

14-man Armagh lift Division 3 league title as McGeeney celebrates Croke Park glory

Armagh had five points to spare over Fermanagh this evening.

Armagh's Ciaran O’Hanlon is tackled by Richard O’Callaghan of Fermanagh.
Armagh's Ciaran O’Hanlon is tackled by Richard O’Callaghan of Fermanagh.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Armagh 0-16
Fermanagh 0-11

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

ARMAGH ROUNDED OFF their spring on a successful note in Croke Park last night, overcoming the first-half dismissal of Finnian Moriarty to clinch a five-point success over Fermanagh.

Armagh suffered what looked like a major setback when reduced to 14 men in the 26th minute. Moriarty was ordered off after being shown a second yellow card just four minutes after receiving his first yellow.

But that setback didn’t hinder Kieran McGeeney’s men. The precision of Tony Kernan and Ethan Rafferty’s place kicking and the attacking play of man-of-the-match Jamie Clarke helped them reign supreme.

Success marked a first national trophy as Armagh manager for the 2002 All-Ireland winning captain McGeeney. Three years ago he guided Kildare to the Division 2 crown but tonight’s victory with his native county had an extra layer of significance.

James Morgan is tackled by Paul McCusker Armagh's James Morgan is tackled by Fermanagh's Paul McCusker. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Fermanagh began brightly thanks to the scoring contributions of Sean Quigley and Tomás Corrigan as they sprint into a 0-3 to 0-0 lead after 10 minutes. But Armagh settled to hit four points on the spin as they went ahead 0-5 to 0-4.

Even the loss of Moriarty didn’t halt their dominance as they went ahead 0-8 to 0-6 by the interval. Their grip on the game didn’t waver in the opening exchanges of the second-half as they reeled off four points without reply to be six clear by the 44th minute.

Fermanagh rallied thanks to Quigley and Corrigan, and had the gap down to three on a couple of occasions. But Armagh powered for the finish line with substitute Stephen Harold catching the eye as he weighed in weighed in with two points.

Scorers for Armagh: Tony Kernan 0-6 (0-5f), Ethan Rafferty 0-3 (0-3f), Jamie Clarke, Stephen Harold 0-2 each, Aidan Forker, Ciaron O’Hanlon, Kevin Dyas 0-1 each.

Scorers for Fermanagh: Seán Quigley 0-7 (0-6f, 0-1 ’45), Tomás Corrigan 0-3, Ruairí Corrigan 0-1.

Aidan Forker reacts after missing a goal chance Armagh's Aidan Forker reacts after missing a goal chance. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


1. Niall Geoghegan (Middletown)

2. Andy Mallon (Parnells)
3. Charlie Vernon (Armagh Harps)
4. Michael Murray (St Patrick’s)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

7. Mark Shields (Whitecross)
6. Finnian Moriarty (Wolfe Tone)
5. James Morgan (Crossmaglen Rangers)

13. Ethan Rafferty (Grange)
12. Aidan Forker (Maghery)

10. Tony Kernan (Crossmaglen Rangers)
18. Kevin Dyas (Dromintee)
21. Ciaron O’Hanlon (Killeavy)

15. Jamie Clarke (Crossmaglen Rangers)
14. Andrew Murnin (St Paul’s)
11. Micheál McKenna (Grange)

8. Ciaran McKeever (Sarsfields) for McKenna (half-time)
23. Eugene McVerry (Mullaghbawn) for Forker (47)
24. Stephen Harold (Carrickcruppen) for Murnin (58)
19. Gavin McParland (Ballymacnab) for Rafferty (62)
22. Caolan Rafferty (Granemore) for O’Hanlon (65)

Ciaran OÕHanlon and James Morgan tackle Ruairi Corrigan Armagh's Ciaran O'Hanlon and James Morgan tackle Fermanagh's Ruairi Corrigan. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


1. Thomas Treacy (Devenish)

2. Mickey Jones (Derrygonnelly)
3. Tiarnan Daly (Derrygonnelly)
4. Marty O’Brien (Devenish)

12. Declan McCusker (St Joseph’s)
6. Ryan McCluskey (Enniskillen Gaels)
7. Niall Cassidy (Roslea)

8. Ryan Jones (Derrygonnelly)
9. Richard O’Callaghan (Enniskillen Gaels)

10. Paul McCusker (St Joseph’s)
11. Ruairí Corrigan (Kinawley)
5. Barry Mulrone (Devenish)

13. Tomás Corrigan (Kinawley)
14. Seán Quigley (Roslea)
15. Ciarán Flaherty (Belcoo)

20. Daniel Kille (Lisnaskea) for Daly (half-time)
17. Aidan Breen (Tempo) for McCusker (53)
21. Darren McQuaide (Coa) for Flaherty (60)
18. Che Cullen (Belleek) for O’Callaghan (70)

Referee: Derek O’Mahoney (Tipperary)

Four-goal Offaly power past Longford to clinch Division 4 league crown

Poll: Who’s going to win tomorrow’s football league finals in Croke Park?

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: