Australia welcome back Scott Sio for World Cup final against New Zealand

Cheika has made just one change for Saturday’s final.

Sio (left) missed the semi-final win.
Sio (left) missed the semi-final win.
Image: PA Archive/Press Association Images

MICHAEL CHEIKA HAS welcomed back loosehead Scott Sio to his side for Saturday’s World Cup final against New Zealand.

The Brumbies prop missed the semi-final win against Argentina after an elbow injury, but has recovered in time to make it back into the side for Saturday’s decider.

He replaces James Slipper in the only changes from the semi-final win, with Slipper dropping to the bench after struggling in the scrum.

It means former Leinster second row Kane Douglas continues in the second row alongside Rob Simmons, with Dean Mumm again having to contend with a place on the bench.

It shows just three changes from the side that defeated New Zealand to win the 2015 Rugby Championship in August, with Douglas, Simmons and Will Genia the only players absent from that win.

While New Zealand have seven players in the starting side from their 2011 World Cup winning line-up, Matt Giteau is the sole survivor from the Aussies’ last appearance in the decider 12 years ago.

Australia (v New Zealand)

15. Israel Folau
14. Adam Ashley-Cooper
13. Tevita Kuridrani
12. Matt Giteau
11. Drew Mitchell
10. Bernard Foley
9. Will Genia

1. Scott Sio
2. Stephen Moore (captain)
3. Sekope Kepu
4. Kane Douglas
5. Rob Simmons
6. Scott Fardy
7. Michael Hooper
8. David Pocock


16. Tatafu Polota-Nau
17. James Slipper
18. Greg Holmes
19. Dean Mumm
20. Ben McCalman
21. Nick Phipps
22. Matt Toomua
23. Kurtley Beale

Ireland players named in Ulster side to face Munster

Munster fans will get the chance to watch their newest signing in action tomorrow

About the author:

Neil Treacy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel