Baa-Baas come calling for Stringer

Having been reduced to a supporting role at Munster, Peter Stringer will play for the Barbarians against Australia this weekend.

MUNSTER SCRUM-HALF PETER Stringer will don the black and white jersey of the Barbarians when they take on Australia at Twickenham on Saturday (2.30pm).

The 33-year-old Corkman will be Ireland’s only representative in a squad list that contains players from ten different countries with over 1000 Test caps between them.

Stringer was included on Monday alongside the likes of Mauro Bergomasco, Salvatore Perugini and Marco Bortolami (all Italy) as well as Sylvain Marconnet of France and Scot Jason White – having been left out of Tony McGahan’s match day squad in recent weeks.

Another eye-catching inclusion is England’s Rugby League star Sam Tomkins, who is included with permission of his club side Wigan.

Sonny Bill Williams and Stephen Jones have withdrawn from the fixture though – the former because of a hamstring injury and the fly-half because he is now required for the Scarlets match against Newport Gwent Dragons on Friday evening.

In fact, no Welsh player will be part of the playing group as they prepare for their own match against Australia seven days after the Barbarians game.

“Obviously we are disappointed that they can’t play for us on this occasion but we also realise that the Welsh regions and the Welsh Rugby Union’s hierarchy have been incredibly supportive of us for similar matches in recent years,” Barbarians secretary Alan Evans said.

“We look forward to inviting these players, and others, again in the near future.”

The squad will be coached by former New Zealand boss Graham Henry and his World Cup-winning assistant coach Steve Hansen, with a team captain confirmed on Tuesday.

Barbarians squad: Sam Tomkins (England RL), Bryan Habana (South Africa), Isaia Toeava (New Zealand), Robbie Fruean (Crusaders), Stirling Mortlock (Australia), Richard Kahui (New Zealand), Seru Rabeni (Fiji), Danny Cipriani (England), Peter Stringer (Ireland), Nemia Kenatale (Fiji), Keven Mealamu (New Zealand), Adriaan Strauss (South Africa), Salvatore Perugini (Italy), Sylvain Marconnet (France), Eusebio Guinazu (Argentina), Victor Matfield (South Africa), Simon Shaw (England), Marco Bortolami (Italy), Jason White (Scotland), Jerome Kaino (New Zealand), Adam Thomson (New Zealand), Mauro Bergamasco (Italy).

READ - O’Shea says he has no interest in England job

READ - I’ll stand by you: Kenny throws down Croagh Patrick gauntlet to Trap

About the author:

Read next: