All-Ireland club football glory for Ballyboden with 13-point win over Castlebar

The Dublin side laid the foundations for victory in the first-half.

Colm Basquel celebrates scoring Ballyboden's first goal.
Colm Basquel celebrates scoring Ballyboden's first goal.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Ballyboden St-Enda’s 2-14
Castlebar Mitchels 0-7

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

BALLYBODEN ST-ENDA’S claimed their first AIB All-Ireland senior club football title today and they achieved that feat in some style as they swatted aside Mayo’s Castlebar Mitchels in Croke Park.

A dream start saw Ballyboden hit the net in the opening minute through Colm Basquel and they rattled off three points without reply then before raising a second green flag in the 16th minute.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Andrew Kerin tucked his shot into the bottom corner past Castlebar goalkeeper Rory Byrne and sent Ballyboden sailing clear by 2-3 to 0-0.

Castlebar were shell-shocked by that blistering Ballyboden opening and after falling nine points adrift, they were never able to work their way back into contention.

Andrew Kerin scores from the penalty spot Andrew Kerin finds the net for Ballyboden from the penalty spot Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

For the second time in three years, Castlebar fell short against Dublin opponents and they never managed to scale the heights here that they had reached earlier in the campaign.

Castlebar’s first score occurred in the 19th minute and it took until the 27th minute for their first point from play to arrive. At the break Ballyboden were in command as they were 2-5 to 0-3 in front and there was no let-up in the third quarter as they hit four points without reply.

Entering the final quarter Castlebar trailed by 12 points but they did manfully keep going to cut the gap to 2-9 to 0-7 with ten minutes left.

However Ballyboden – despite losing Michael Darragh MacAuley to injury – regained their control to finish out the match impressively. They outscored Castlebar by 0-5 to 0-1 in the last ten minutes and had nine different scorers on the day.

Ryan Basquel and Rory Byrne Ballyboden's Ryan Basquel tackles Castlebar goalkeeper Rory Byrne Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Corner-back Bob Dwan won the man-of-the-match award and got forward for 0-3 while the Basquel brothers, Colm and Ryan, also impressed as the Dublin outfit triumphed.

Scorers for Ballyboden: Andrew Kerin 1-2 (1-0 pen), Colm Basquel 1-1, Bob Dwan 0-3, Ryan Basquel, Shane Durkin 0-2 each, Stephen O’Connor, Darren O’Reilly, Conal Keaney, Michael Darragh MacAuley 0-1 each.

Scorers for Castlebar: Neil Douglas (0-1 ’45), Aidan Walsh (0-2f) 0-2 each, James Durkan, Neil Lydon, Paddy Durkan 0-1 each.

Ballyboden St Enda’s:

1. Paul Durcan

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

2. Bob Dwan
3. Stephen Hiney
4. Shane Clayton

18. Stephen O’Connor
6. Darragh Nelson
19. Shane Durkin

8. Michael Darragh Macauley
7. Aran Waters

10. Darren O’Reilly
11. Colm Basquel
5. Robbie McDaid

17. Ryan Basquel
14. Conal Keaney
15. Andrew Kerin

22. Simon Lambert for MacAuley (inj)  (34)
13. Sam Molony for Ryan Basquel (59)
12. Daniel Davey for O’Reilly (59)
20. Donogh McCabe for Waters (61)
25. Sean Gibbons for McDaid (62)

Castlebar Mitchels

1. Rory Byrne

2. Tom Cunniffe
3. Alan Feeney
4. Donie Newcombe

5. Paddy Durkan
6. Eoghan O’Reilly
7. Ray O’Malley

8. Ger McDonagh
9. Barry Moran

10. Shane Hopkins
11. Neil Lydon
12. Neil Douglas

13. Stephen Keane
14. Richie Feeney
15. Danny Kirby

19. Fergal Durkan for Hopkins (24)
20. James Durkan for Feeney (37)
18. Cian Costello for Keane (37)
24. Aidan Walsh for Douglas (41)
17. Sean Conlon for O’Malley (45)
21. Ronan Burke for Newcombe (50)

Referee: Conor Lane (Cork)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Na Piarsaigh win Limerick’s first All-Ireland senior club hurling title

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: