This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Saturday 7 December, 2019

Ballyboden St Enda's advance to first Leinster decider after seeing off St Loman's

Sam Molony’s first-half goal proved the difference at Cusack Park.

St Loman's Paul Sharry and Michael Darragh MacAuley at full-time.
St Loman's Paul Sharry and Michael Darragh MacAuley at full-time.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Ballyboden St Enda’s 1-11
St Loman’s 0-09

BALLYBODEN ST ENDA’S will face Portlaoise in the Leinster Club SFC final after they defeated St Loman’s at Cusack Park this afternoon.

The Dublin champions edged a tight game to book their place in the provincial decider in two weeks’ time. It will be their first appearance in the Leinster final after falling short on two previous occasions.

Sam Molony’s first-half goal was the deciding factor in an otherwise scrappy, stop-start encounter in Mullingar.

After the sides had exchanged points, Conal Keaney manufactured the opening before squaring for Molony to smash home just before the interval.

It tipped the balance firmly in Ballyboden’s favour and they extended their advantage to seven points shortly after the restart thanks to Keaney.

The hosts reduced the deficit to five with a quarter remaining but their faint hopes of pulling off a comeback were dashed when Michael Darragh Macauley pointed to seal Ballyboden’s progression.

They will face seven-time champions Portlaoise on 6 December.

Scorers for Ballyboden St Enda’s: C Keaney 0-4 (4f), A Kerin 0-4 (3f), S Molony 1-1, C Basquel & MD Macauley 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Loman’s: J Heslin 0-7 (6f), K Casey 0-1, P Sharry 0-1.


P Durcan

B Dwan
S Hiney
S Clayton

D Nelson
R McDaid
S O’Connor

D O’Mahoney
MD Macauley

C Basquel
D Davey
D O’Reilly

C Keaney
S Molony
A Kerin.


D McCabe for Davey (48)
S Durkin for Dwan (53).


J Daly

J O’Toole
N O’Toole
S Flynn

G Glennon
D Whelan
G Grehan

P Sharry
A Gaffney

D Windsor
J Heslin
K Lynam

S Dempsey
K Reilly
K Casey.


C Reilly for Windsor (HT)
C Kilmurray for N O’Toole (37)
R O’Toole for Lynam (42)
G Hickey for Dempsey (47).

Referee: Fergal Smyth (Offaly)

 Sharp-shooting Portlaoise book spot in another Leinster final

Shane Dowling leads the way as Na Piarsaigh crowned Munster club kingpins again


  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel