Dublin: 12°C Monday 27 June 2022

Look away now Ireland fans - Belgium's final Euro 2016 squad is seriously impressive

Eden Hazard takes his place as one of the biggest names in the squad alongside Kevin De Bruyne

Eden Hazard had a disappointing season at club level with Chelsea, scoring just four Premier League goals.
Eden Hazard had a disappointing season at club level with Chelsea, scoring just four Premier League goals.

CHELSEA ATTACKER EDEN Hazard is the standout name in Marc Wilmots’ final 23-man Belgium squad for Euro 2016.

Hazard struggled to find his best form at Chelsea in 2015-16, but remains an undisputed starter for his country, with Wilmots naming the winger as his captain in the absence of Vincent Kompany.

The Manchester City centre-back was already left out of the provisional squad due to injury and is one of a number of defenders who misses out on the tournament in France.

Nicolas Lombaerts (Zenit St Petersburg), Dedryck Boyata (Celtic), Bjorn Engels (Club Brugge) were all forced to pull out due to injury, with Laurent Ciman and Christian Kabasele added to the Belgium roster.

Belgium’s injury worries at the back mean Wilmots is likely to opt for a four-man defence consisting of Jason Denayer, Toby Alderweireld, Thomas Vermaelen and Jan Vertonghen.

Mousa Dembele and Radja Nainggolan have made the cut in midfield, despite battling minor injuries.

Belgium can count on the likes of Kevin De Bruyne and Romelu Lukaku in attack, with Liverpool duo Christian Benteke and Divock Origi also included.

Belgium meet Italy, Sweden and Republic of Ireland in Group E, starting their tournament against the Azzurri on 13 June.

Squad in full: Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool), Jean-Francois Gillet (Mechelen) Defenders: Toby Alderweireld, Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham), Jason Denayer (Manchester City, on loan at Galatasaray), Jordan Lukaku (Oostende), Thomas Meunier (Club Brugge), Thomas Vermaelen (Barcelona), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Christian Kabasele (Genk) Midfielders: Axel Witsel (Zenit St Petersburg), Marouane Fellaini (Manchester United), Mousa Dembele (Tottenham), Radja Nainggolan (Roma) Attackers: Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Romelu Lukaku (Everton), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Michy Batshuayi (Marseille), Christian Benteke, Divock Origi (Liverpool), Yannick Ferreira-Carrasco (Atletico Madrid).

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

From youth team to Euro 2016: The meteoric rise of Marcus Rashford>

Premier League clubs considering move for Ireland’s Westwood – reports>

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel