Bray leapfrog their opponents into tenth position. Cathal Noonan/INPHO
bit o'bother

Sligo's nightmare season has plunged to a new low as Bray defeat leaves them in red zone

Without a manager and without a win in four outings now.

Bray Wanderers 1

Sligo Rovers 0

IF YOU THOUGHT things couldn’t get any worse for Sligo Rovers, then think again as defeat to Bray Wanderers has left them floundering in the SSE Airtricity League relegation/promotion play-off berth.

Alan McNally’s early goal was enough to seperate the sides at the Carlisle Grounds and inflict a ninth defeat of the campaign on the beleaguered Bit O’Red. They now lie in 11th position.

After weeks of turmoil and speculation, Owen Heary’s departure was officially confirmed last night but the Sligo’s problems extend far beyond their manager.

They were perhaps unfortunate not to make the return journey with at least a point for their efforts but, as we’ve come to expect with Bray, they defended resolutely and made it hard for their opponents.

The hosts started brightly and took the lead after just seven minutes. Chris Lyons’ initial effort came back off the post but McNally, who was in the area after a set-piece, was on hand to slot home.

Trevor Croly’s side continued to dictate proceedings and had the ball in the net for a second time shortly after only for Ryan McEvoy’s effort to be ruled out for offside.

It was the wake-up call the visitors needed and they responded with a period of pressure of their own before the break.

Raffaele Cretaro’s stinging effort was tipped to safety by Stephen McGuinness and Eoin Wearan was denied by  Niall Cooney’s goal-line clearance.

But they failed to press on after the interval as Bray were allowed to sit in a rigid formation and hold out for three valuable points.

Bray Wanderers: Stephen McGuinness; Michael Barker, Niall Cooney, Alan McNally, Hugh Douglas; David Cassidy, Ryan McEvoy, John Sullivan, Graham Kelly; Gareth McDonagh; Chris Lyons.

Sligo Rovers: Richard Brush; Gary Armstrong, Gavin Peers, Morton Nielsen, Liam Fahey; Raffaele Cretaro, Eoin Wearan, Ryan McManus, David Cawley, Danny Ledwith, Jake Dykes.

Referee: Ray Matthews.

Forrester helps Pat’s cut Longford down to size

Rovers return to winning ways at Galway’s expense

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.