This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8 °C Saturday 8 August, 2020

Cadogan and Costello on shortlist for All-Ireland U21 football award

Conor McHugh, Diarmuid Murtagh, Thomas Corcoran and Michael Argue are also nominated.

Alan Cadogan excelled for the Cork U21 footballers this season. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

DUBLIN SENIOR FOOTBALLER Cormac Costello and Cork senior hurler Alan Cadogan are amongst the nominees for this year’s Cadbury ‘Hero of the Future’ award.

The award is handed out to the leading player in the All-Ireland U21 football championship with Costello and Conor McHugh the members of the triumphant Dublin team included.

Na Fianna’s McHugh was man-of-the-match in the final win over Roscommon as he struck 1-6 from play while Whitehall-Colmcille player Costello bagged 0-4.

Cormac Costello celebrates kicking the winning point against Cavan. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Cadogan, man-of-the-match for the Cork hurlers on his senior championship debut last Sunday against Waterford, also shone for the county U21 football side this spring. He hit 0-5 from play in their opening day win against Kerry and also rifled home a terrific goal in the All-Ireland semi-final loss to Roscommon.

The Rossies have two players on the list in sharpshooter Diarmuid Murtagh, who hit 0-10 in the semi-final win over Cork and 2-3 in the defeat to Dublin, and midfielder Thomas Corcoran. Cavan’s Michael Argue, who helped them win their fourth successive Ulster U21 crown this year, completes the list.

The panel of judges includes former Kerry footballer Tomás Ó Sé, former Dublin manager Paul Caffrey and TG4 journalist Micheal Ó Domhnaill. The winner, which will be announced in the coming weeks, will receive €1,000 as well as a special grant of €1,000 for their club.

Here’s the list of past winners of the award:

2006 – Keith Higgins (Mayo)
2007 – Fintan Goold (Cork)
2008 – Killian Young (Kerry)
2009 – Colm O’Neill (Cork)
2010 – Rory O’Carroll (Dublin)
2011 - Thomas Flynn (Galway)
2012 – Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)
2013 - Ian Burke (Galway)

Eating a bag of pick ‘n’ mix sweets didn’t stop Antrim U21′s shocking Wexford last year

Analysis: How Alan Cadogan and Austin Gleeson made their senior hurling mark

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: