Dublin: 5°C Monday 29 November 2021

Drum roll, please: The nominees for the 2016 Camogie All-Star awards have been named

The winners will be announced at the annual awards banquet on 5 November.

Kilkenny dominate the shortlist.
Kilkenny dominate the shortlist.
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Kilkenny dominate the shortlist for the 2016 Camogie All-Star awards after winning their first O’Duffy Cup since 1994.

The Cats edged out Cork in the final last month to win a 13th All-Ireland crown and have been rewarded with 15 nominations for the team which will be announced on 5 November.

Cork, meanwhile, have 10 representatives on the shortlist while Tipperary receive five despite falling at the quarter-final stage. In total, the nominees come from nine counties.

“The Camogie All-Stars celebrate the outstanding skill, commitment, athleticism and sportsmanship of our players and it is important to acknowledge at a national level their contribution to our game and to provide them with the recognition they so richly deserve,” Catherine Neary, President of the Camogie Association, said.

Nominees for the Camogie Association/WGPA Senior, Intermediate and Junior Players of the Year will be announced later this month.

Goalkeepers: Aoife Murray (Cork), Emma Kavanagh (Kilkenny), Mags D’Arcy (Wexford)


Full-Back Line: Rena Buckley (Cork), Pamela Mackey (Cork), Laura Treacy (Cork), Sarah Dervan (Galway), Collette Dormer (Kilkenny), Jacqui Frisby (Kilkenny), Davina Tobin (Kilkenny), Jean Brady (Offaly), Aoife McGrath (Tipperary)

Half-Back Line: Gemma O’Connor (Cork), Rebecca Hennelly (Galway), Anne Dalton (Kilkenny), Meighan Farrell (Kilkenny), Edwina Keane (Kilkenny), Claire Phelan (Kilkenny), Siobhán Flannery (Offaly), Patricia Jackman (Waterford), Sarah O’Connor (Wexford)

Midfield: Orla Cotter (Cork), Ashling Thompson (Cork), Anna Farrell (Kilkenny), Miriam Walsh (Kilkenny), Teresa Ryan (Tipperary), Shelley Kehoe (Wexford)


Half-Forward Line: Hannah Looney (Cork), Niamh O’Dea (Clare), Aoife Donohue (Galway), Denise Gaule (Kilkenny), Julie Ann Malone (Kilkenny), Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick), Michaela Morkan (Offaly), Mary Ryan (Tipperary), Nicole Walsh (Tipperary)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Full-Forward Line: Briege Corkery (Cork), Katrina Mackey (Cork), Ailish O’Reilly (Galway), Shelly Farrell (Kilkenny), Katie Power (Kilkenny), Michelle Quilty (Kilkenny), Tina Hannon (Offaly), Orla O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Kate Kelly (Wexford)

Manager of the Year: Mark Brennan (Carlow), Paudie Murray (Cork), Ann Downey (Kilkenny)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Poll: Who deserves to be crowned Footballer of the Year?

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: