Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Saturday 8 May 2021

All the winners from last night's Camogie Allstars awards ceremony

The awards ceremony took place in Citywest last night.

The 2015 Camogie All-Stars alongside special guest Brent Pope.
The 2015 Camogie All-Stars alongside special guest Brent Pope.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Cork and finalists Galway dominated the 2015 Camogie Allstars team as this year’s star performers were recognised at an awards dinner last night.

Cork defender Gemma O’Connor was rewarded for her individual performances by collecting the inaugural Camogie Association/WGPA Players’ Player of the Year award.

O’Connor also picked up her ninth All-Star award at centre-back and was one of seven Cork players to be included in the side. Team-mate Aoife Murray was selected in goal, Pamela Mackey and Rena Buckley in defence while captain Ashling Thompson was rewarded with a place in midfield.

Orla Cotter and Briege Corkery completed the Rebel representation while runners-up Galway also had seven players included.

Waterford’s Patricia Jackman received the Intermediate Player of the Year, Kate Nolan of Carlow was the recipient of the Junior accolade with all three of the individual awards decided by a panel of inter-county players.

The 2015 Soaring Stars at Junior and Intermediate level, which were announced earlier in October, were also presented last night at the ceremony in the Citywest Hotel.

2015 All-Stars team:

Aoife Murray (Cork), Pamela Mackey (Cork), Sarah Dervan (Galway), Heather Cooney (Galway), Rena Buckley (Cork), Gemma O’Connor (Cork), Lorraine Ryan (Galway), Niamh Kilkenny (Galway), Ashling Thompson (Cork), Orla Cotter (Cork), Niamh McGrath (Galway), Kate Kelly (Wexford), Briege Corkery (Cork), Molly Dunne (Galway), Ailish O’Reilly (Galway).

Catherine Neary Catherine Neary, President of the Camogie Association. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

2015 Intermediate Soaring Stars:

Susie O’Carroll (Kildare), Melissa Lyons (Kildare), Lorraine Bray (Waterford), Beth Carton (Waterford), Patricia Jackman (Waterford), Jane Dolan (Meath).

2015 Junior Soaring Stars:

Susan Spillane (Roscommon), Rachel Fitzmaurice (Roscommon), Laura-Marie Maher (Laois), Louise Mahony (Laois), Sarah-Anne Fitzgerald (Laois), Pamela Greville (Westmeath) .

2015 Manager of the Year:

Paudie Murray, Cork.

2015 Camogie Association/WGPA Players’ Player of the Year:

Senior Players’ Player of the Year: Gemma O’Connor, Cork.
Intermediate Players’ Player of the Year: Patricia Jackman, Waterford.
Junior Players’ Player of the Year: Kate Nolan, Carlow.

James puts on a Masters class as Nemo Rangers beat Stradbally to reach Munster semi-finals

Diarmuid O’Connor won a Mayo team-mate over €3,000 by winning Young Footballer of the Year

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel