This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 14 °C Sunday 9 August, 2020

Here's the Canada team that will start against Ireland on Saturday

Skipper Aaron Carpenter will win his 75th cap.

Image: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

CANADA HAVE NAMED the side that will take on Ireland in Saturday’s autumn international at the Aviva Stadium.

No. 8 Aaron Carpenter, who will earn his 75th cap, captains the team. After the game Carpenter, 33, will lie just one cap behind Al Charron’s Canadian record of 76.

DTH van der Merwe, Brett Beukeboom, Conor Trainor and Connor Braid all return to the starting XV. Beukeboom is joined at lock by Newcastle Falcon Evan Olmstead.

Canada, who currently sit in 18th in the World Rugby test rankings, will play Romania (16th) and Samoa (14th) after the trip to Ireland (5th).

Ireland claimed a 50-7 victory when these nations last met in the tournament opener of the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

Canada (v Ireland)

15. Matt Evans
14. DTH van der Merwe
13. Conor Trainor
12. Ciaran Hearn
11. Taylor Paris
10. Connor Braid.
9.  Gordon McRorie

1. Djustice Sears-Duru
2. Ray Barkwill
3. Jake Ilnicki
4. Brett Beukboom
5. Evan Olmstead
6. Kyle Baillie
7. Lucas Rumball
8. Aaron Carpenter


16. Eric Houward
17. Rob Brouwer
18. Matt Tierney
19. Admir Cejvanovic
20. Matt Heaton
21. Phil Mack
22. Pat Parfrey
23. Phil Blevins

Conservatism well and truly cast aside with host of new combinations to face Canada

‘I don’t want them too frustrated’: Detail not destruction key for O’Mahony and O’Brien on return

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: