INPHO/Donall Farmer Cavan team.
Team news

2 championship debutants in Fermanagh team for Ulster quarter final

Opponents Cavan have made one change for the game.

FERMANAGH HAVE NAMED two debutants for Sunday’s Ulster senior football quarter-final against Cavan in Brewster Park in Enniskillen

Goalkeeper Chris Snow and wing-back Declan McCusker, who are both from Ederney St Joseph’s club, will make their first championship starts on Sunday.

Shane McCabe is named at centre-forward and will play his first Ulster championship game since 2008 after missing last year’s provincial encounter against Down because of illness.

Fermanagh have six survivors from last year’s 3-13 to 0-15 loss against Cavan in the All-Ireland qualifiers in John Woods, Barry Owens, Conor Quigley, Ryan Jones, Paul Ward and Tomas Corrigan.

FERMANAGH: Chris Snow (Ederney St Josephs); John Woods (Lisnaskea), Barry Owens (Teemore), Damien Kelly (Tempo); Declan McCusker (Ederney  St Josephs), Ryan McCluskey (Enniskillen Gaels), Marty O’Brien (Devenish); James Sherry (Roslea), Marty McGrath (Ederney St Josephs); Conor Quigley (Roslea), Shane McCabe (Belcoo), Ryan Jones (Derrygonnelly); Paul Ward (Derrygonnelly), Sean Quigley (Roslea), Tomas Corrigan (Kinawley).


Jack Brady has been named in the Cavan side to start the game after being a late withdrawal before their opening round tie against Armagh.

Brady, who has been part of the Cavan team that has won the last three Ulster U21 titles, is selected at centre-forward after being replaced late on by Killian Brady for the game against the Orchard County.

Manager Terry Hyland is hopeful on this occasion that Brady will be fit to start after he came on as a late substitute against Armagh.

The full-forward line of Niall McDermott, Martin Dunne and Eugene Keating – who struck 13 points between them in their last game – will be the danger men up front in the Breffni County line-up.

From the Cavan side that defeated Fermanagh last year, there are eight survivors in Killian Clarke, Feargal Flanagan, Damien O’Reilly, David Givney, Ronan Flanagan, McDermott, Keating and Brady.

Current corner-back Jason McLoughlin came on as a substitute during that clash twelve months ago in Brewster Park in Enniskillen.

CAVAN: Conor Gilsenan (Bailieborough Shamrocks); Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels), Rory Dunne (Redhills), Killian Clarke (Shercock); James McEnroe (Ramor United), Alan Clarke (Kingscourt), Ronan Flanagan (Castlerahan); Damien O’Reilly (Belturbet), David Givney (Mountnugent); Cian Mackey (Castlerahan), Jack Brady (Ramor United), Feargal Flanagan (Butlersbridge); Niall McDermott (Ballinagh), Martin Dunne (Cavan Gaels), Eugene Keating (Saint Sylvesters – Dublin).

4 point victory for Cavan over Armagh in Ulster showdown

Here’s what the GAA schedule looks like this week