Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13°C Tuesday 20 October 2020

No Aaron Kernan as Armagh and Cavan name their XV for Sunday's SFC clash

Gearoid McKiernan makes his return to championship football this Sunday, but there’s no Aaron Kernan for Armagh.

Aaron Kernan has struggled with injuries this year.
Aaron Kernan has struggled with injuries this year.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

AARON KERNAN IS not fit to start for Armagh in this Sunday’s Ulster championship meeting with Cavan.

Armagh will hand a championship debut to U21 midfielder Aaron Findon, while another who is said to have caught the eye in recent challenge games is Eugene McVerry, and he has been rewarded with a spot in the half-forward line.

Brendan Donaghy also makes a return after suffering from tendonitis recently.

Thirteen of the Cavan team who knocked Armagh out of last summer’s Ulster championship start once more against the same opposition on Sunday.

For the first time in a number of years no championship debutantes will feature in a line up which consists of a good blend of youth and experience.

Gearoid McKiernan Source: James Crombie/INPHO

The midfield berth will feature David Givney partnered by Gearoid McKiernan who plays his first championship football in two years following an injury enforced break last year.

Both Givney, McKiernan and corner forward Jack Brady have all been suffering with injuries throughout this season.

After scoring nine points in the same fixture last year Martin Dunne is named at full forward once more.

Throw in at the Athletic Grounds is at 4pm.


1. Conor Gilsenan (Bailieborough.Group Croke Park)
2. Jason McLoughlin (Shannon Gaels)
3. Rory Dunne (Redhills)
4. Feargal Flanagan (Butlersbridge)
5. James McEnroe (Ramor United)
6. Alan Clarke (Kingscourt)
7. Damien O’Reilly (Belturbet)
8. David Givney (Mountnugent)
9. Gearoid McKiernan (Swanlinbar)
10. Cian Mackey (Castlerahan)
11. Niall McDermott (Ballinagh)
12. Martin Reilly (Killygary)
13. Eugene Keating (Saint Sylvesters)
14. Martin Dunne (Cavan Gaels)
15. Jack Brady (Ramor United)

Aaron Findon 19/3/2014 Source: Matt Mackey/


1. Philip McEvoy (Dromintee)
2. Andy Mallon (Parnells Dublin)
3. Charlie Vernon (Armagh Harps)
4. James Morgan (Crossmaglen Rangers)
5. Mark Shields (Whitecross)
6. Brendan Donaghy (Clonmore)
7. Ciaran McKeever (Cullyhanna)
8. Kieran Toner (Granemore)
9. Aaron Findon (St Peter’s)
10. Eugene McVerry (Mullaghbawn)
11. Kevin Dyas (Dromintee)
12. Caolan Rafferty (Granemore)
13. Jamie Clarke (Crossmaglen Rangers)
14. Ethan Rafferty (Grange)
15. Stefan Campbell (Clann na nGael)

Jamie Clarke on being Armagh’s ‘kid’ captain

No room for Andy Moran as Mayo name side for Rossies test

Read next: