Here’s the 9 clubs that supply players to Cork’s All-Ireland starting side

All you need to know about the Rebel clubs who will have players in action tomorrow.


Pic: INPHO/James Crombie

Where are the Rebel stars from? Here’s the 9 clubs that supply players to Jimmy Barry-Murphy’s team.


The club are based on the southside of Cork city, a suburb to the west of the city centre. They were promoted to senior hurling level after winning the Premier intermediate crown in Cork in 2006.

Last year they reached the Cork senior hurling final before losing to Sarsfields and they have also consistently challenged in the Cork senior football championship over the last decade.

Captain Patrick Cronin is a key figure in the Cork side as is Shane O’Neill at the heart of the Rebels rearguard.


Patrick Cronin in action for Bishopstown
Pic: INPHO/James Crombie

Bride Rovers

Bride Rovers are based in the village of Rathcormac, which is located just off the M8 motorway between Cork city and Fermoy. They ply their trade in the East Cork division of Imokilly.

Bride Rovers operate at senior level and came closest to claiming honours in 2008 when they lost out in the final to Sarsfields. Brian Murphy is their flag-bearer with the All-Ireland defensive winner having been at the core of Cork’s efforts over the last decade.

Glen Rovers

One of Cork’s most successful clubs, Glen Rovers have won 25 county senior hurling titles. Their last arrived in 1989 with defeat occurring three years ago in the decider against Sarsfields.

The club is based in Blackpool on the northside of Cork city. Their current senior stars are defender Stephen McDonnell and attacker Patrick Horgan.

imagePatrick Horgan in action for Glen Rovers
Pic: INPHO/James Crombie


The town of Cork is located in the North-West of the county, playing at local level in the Duhallow division. They feature at intermediate level in Cork reaching the county hurling final at that grade last year before they lost out to Kilworth.

Goalkeeper Anthony Nash is one of their standout figures and is also a noted footballer, winning the man-of-the-match award when Kanturk won the 2011 Cork junior football final – the same night that the Republic of Ireland defeated Estonia in their Euro 2012 playoff first leg.

Midfielder Lorcan McLoughlin is another Kanuturk representative in the Cork hurling camp. His brother John is on the Cork football squad while Aidan Walsh is another Kanturk man in that setup.


This is a massive occasion for the Kilbrin club, a junior hurling outfit that is also based in the Duhallow division. Kilbrin is located 5 miles from the town of Kanturk.

Their star man is half-back William Egan who has climbed up through the underage ranks to make a name for himself at senior level. Egan has also won Fitzgibbon Cup titles the last two seasons with UCC.

imageCork’s William Egan
Pic: INPHO/Cathal Noonan


The Midleton club are located in the East Cork town which is situated off the N25, just 14 miles from Cork city centre. They have a rich tradition at senior level, particularly when they won four county titles between 1983 and 1991.

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

It’s 1994 since they were last in a county final and they lost out to Carrigtwohill at the semi-final stage two years ago. Both Conor Lehane and Luke O’Farrell from the club have pinned down starting positions in the Cork senior attack this week while Brian Hartnett and Patrick O’Mahony have also been involved on the panel.

Na Piarsaigh

Based on the northside of Cork city, Na Piarsaigh draw players from the Farranree area. They have won three county senior hurling titles – their most recent in 2004 – and will contest this year’s quarter-final against local rivals Glen Rovers on October 6th.

Sean Óg Ó hAilpín and John Gardiner are amongst the most recent players from the club to line out for Cork while current centre-back Christopher Joyce now leads the way.


Sarsfields are a hurling based in Glanmire, a suburb just to the east of Cork city. They won Cork senior titles in 1951 and 1957 before enduring a long drought without success.

But now they are in the midst of a golden era as they are the reigning Cork senior champions while previously winning titles in 2008 and 2010. That’s reflected in their representation on the Cork team with Conor O’Sullivan, Daniel Kearney and Cian McCarthy all starting tomorow while Michael Cussen is on the bench.


Sarsfields Michael Cussen and Conor O’Sullivan
Pic: INPHO/James Crombie

St Ita’s

It’s been a great and novel year for the small St Ita’s GAA club. Based in East Cork, the club’s pitch is just five miles from the town of Youghal.

Their star man is Seamus Harnedy, who is the first player from the club to line out for the Cork seniors and to play in an All-Ireland final. His mother Kathy won six All-Ireland medals playing for the Cork senior camogie team.

17 of the best pics from Cork’s path to the All-Ireland SHC final

Snapshot: The People’s Republic invades Edinburgh

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: