©INPHO/Dan Sheridan Stander in the aftermath of Munster's defeat to Edinburgh in the Heineken Cup.
# exclusion
CJ Stander named at No. 8 in Munster 'A' team
The South African back-row will not be part of Munster’s Heineken Cup clash in Perpignan this weekend

MUNSTER ‘A’ COACH Peter Malone has named CJ Stander at No. 8 in his team to face Plymouth Albion in the British and Irish Cup tomorrow night.

The South African back row may have expected to have some involvement in Munster’s Heineken Cup encounter with Perpignan on Saturday, but will instead be lining out at Waterford’s Regional Sports Centre this weekend [KO 7.30pm].

Many supporters of the southern province have been calling for Stander’s inclusion in the starting XV for the big games this season, but head coach Rob Penney clearly feels the 23-year-old’s ball-carrying power is not enough to warrant selection. Stander himself may not have seen his second season in Ireland playing out in this manner, although we are only at the half-way point.

Stander’s omission from the Munster squad to travel to Perpignan suggests that Tommy O’Donnell will return to the fold, having recently recovered from a knee injury. Billy Holland is another who drops down to the ‘A’ squad this weekend, following a substitute appearances against Perpignan in Sunday – suggesting that Dave Foley may be set for a senior call-up.

In all, there are seven changes to Malone’s side with academy players Darren Sweetnam, Niall Kenneally and debutant Alex Wootton coming into the backline. Experienced Cork Con scrum-half Gerry Hurley also comes into the backs, while the forwards have been bolstered by the additions of Holland, Barry O’Mahony and Stander.

Young Munster centre Dan Goggin has been named on the Munster ‘A’ replacements bench for the first time.

Munster ‘A’ [v Plymouth]: Ronan O’Mahony; Darren Sweetnam, Cian Bohane, Niall Kenneally, Alex Wootton; Johnny Holland, Gerry Hurley; Alan Cotter, Niall Scannell(Capt), John Ryan; Ian Nagle, Billy Holland; Dave O’Callaghan, Barry O’Mahony, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Max Abbott, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Shane Buckley, Brian Haugh, Dan Goggin, Rory Scannell.

Like rugby? Follow’s dedicated Twitter account @rugby_ie >

Former Munster scrum-half Stringer to join Europe’s elite

Rob Penney: ‘Perpignan will be trying to ambush us’

Your Voice
Readers Comments