This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Wednesday 19 December, 2018

Captain and key forward to make 2017 bow for Clare in Munster battle with Limerick

Patrick O’Connor and Conor McGrath return for the Banner.

Patrick O'Connor and Conor McGrath return for the Banner.
Patrick O'Connor and Conor McGrath return for the Banner.
Image: INPHO

CAPTAIN PATRICK O’CONNOR and key forward Conor McGrath will mark their comebacks for Clare from injury in Thurles on Sunday, after being named to start in the Munster semi-final against Limerick.

The pair missed the entire league campaign due to shoulder injuries and have been selected for their first competitive appearance of 2017.

O’Connor will start at left corner-back while McGrath is selected at full-forward.

The inclusion of that duo is part of four changes to the Clare team that defeated Dublin in April’s league relegation play-off in Ennis.

Wing-back Gearoid O’Connell, part of the Ballyea side who contested the All-Ireland club final on St Patrick’s Day last, and corner-forward Shane O’Donnell are also drafted in by joint managers Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor.

Patrick Horgan and Gearoid O’Connell Gearoid O'Connell in action for Ballyea in the Munster club final against Glen Rovers. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Cian Dillon, Brendan Bugler, Jamie Shanahan and Cathal McInerney all drop to the bench.


1. Andrew Fahy (Whitegate)

2. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
3. David McInerney (Tulla)
4. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber – captain)

5. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)
6. Conor Cleary (St. Joseph’s Miltown)
7. Gearóid O’Connell (Ballyea)

8. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)
9. David Reidy (Éire Óg Inis)

10. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)
11. Podge Collins (Cratloe)
12. John Conlon (Clonlara)

13. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
14. Conor McGrath (Cratloe)
15. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg Inis)


16. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)
17. Cian Dillon (Crusheen)
18. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge)
19. Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge)
20. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
21. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
22. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)
23. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
24. Paul Flanagan (Ballyea)
25. Cathal McInerney (Cratloe)
26. Brendan Bugler (Whitegate)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Cheering on Carey from the bench in ’96 to plotting for Limerick’s battle with Clare

‘I remember Davy ringing me one night and I was shaking’ – the Clare senior call up

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: