Cathal Noonan/INPHO Clare management duo Davy Fitzgerald and Donal Óg Cusack saw their team win tonight.
# Banner Strength
Two goals by Duggan helps Clare ease past Kerry to secure 25-point victory
Colin Ryan hit 0-8 as the Banner won in Sixmilebridge.

Clare 2-27
Kerry 0-8

Eoin Brennan reports from Sixmilebridge

CLARE MAINTAINED THEIR perfect start to the new year after a comfortable victory over Kerry in wintery Sixmilebridge this evening.

It was the first competitive meeting between the counties in five years and the completion of an even rarer double for the Banner over the Kingdom in both hurling and football in the space of three days.

Clare’s vastly superior start and finish effectively ensured such a wide 25 point margin as the hosts eased 1-10 clear including a clever opportunistic 18th minute goal from Peter Duggan before Kerry finally got on the scoresheet three minutes later.

With nine different scorers and only two first half wides, a clinical Banner side chalked up a 1-16 to 0-03 interval lead over Ciaran Carey’s side who are winless so far in 2016.

To their credit, Kerry came out fighting on the restart and took charge of the third quarter with Colm Harty and Jordan Conway contributing braces as they outscored a sleepy Clare by 0-5 to 0-1 to lower the arrears to 12.

However, Clare snatched back the whip hand all too easily, with a trio of Colin Ryan frees sparking another 1-10 rally without reply to flesh out the final margin.

Peter Duggan celebrates scoring Cathal Noonan / INPHO Peter Duggan struck two goals for Clare tonight against Kerry Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

Peter Duggan grabbed his second goal three minutes from time while substitutes Michael O’Malley, Daire Keane and Davy Conroy all got in on the scoring action to complete Clare’s second victory of the campaign.

Scorers for Clare: Colin Ryan 0-8 (7f), Peter Duggan (2-2); John Conlon, Cathal O’Connell (1f) 0-3 each; David Reidy, Gearoid O’Connell, Conor O’Donnell 0-2 each; Cian Dillon, Darach Honan, Michael O’Malley, Daire Keane, Davy Conroy 0-1 each

Scorers for Kerry: Colm Harty 0-3 (2f); Jordan Conway 0-2 (1f); Brendan O’Leary, Mickey Boyle, Johnny Buckley 0-1 each


1. Andrew Fahey (Whitegate)

2. Eoin O’Brien (Newmarket-on-Fergus)
3. Patrick O’Connor (Tubber)
4. Paul Flanagan (Ballyea)

7. Jack Browne (Ballyea)
6. Cian Dillon (Crusheen)
5. Patrick Donnellan (O’Callaghan’s Mills)

8. Gearoid O’Connell (Ballyea)
9. David Reidy (Éire Óg)

10. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)
11. John Conlon (Clonlara)
12. Colin Ryan (Newmarket-on-Fergus)

13. Conor O’Donnell (Crusheen)
14. Darach Honan (Clonlara)
15. Cathal O’Connell (Clonlara)

24. Conor Cleary (Kilmaley) for Donnellan (56)
21. Michael O’Malley (Kilmaley) for O’Donnell (57)
22. Daire Keane (Kilmaley) for Honan (62)
20. Davy Conroy (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield) for Ryan (63)
23. Kevin Hehir (Inagh-Kilnamona) for Reidy (70)


1. Aidan McCabe (Kilmoyley)

2. Sean Weir (Crotta O’Neills)
3.Bryan Murphy (Causeway)
4. Dougie Fitzell (Kilmoyley)

18. Brendan Brosnan (Lixnaw)
5. Daniel Collins (Kilmoyley)
7. Jason Diggins (Causeway)

13. Keith Carmody (Causeway)
24. Mike Milner (Dr. Crokes)

10. Colm Harty (Causeway)
11. Brendan O’Leary (Abbeydorney)
12. Shane Nolan (Crotta O’Neills)

17. Mickey Boyle (Ballyduff)
14. Michael O’Leary (Abbeydorney)
15. Jordan Conway (Crotta O’Neills)

19. Paudie O’Connor (Kilmoyley) for Milner (Half-Time)
9. Johnny Buckley (Lixnaw) for Brosnan (Half-Time)
23. Sean Maunsell (Kilmoyley) for Nolan (48)
26. Ger Stackpoole (Lixnaw) for Weir (61)

Referee: Joe Larkin (Cork)

Kilkenny lose 2016 opener, Galway win again and Dr McKenna Cup reaches semi-finals

Goals handed Cork victory against Waterford in the snow in Mallow tonight

Your Voice
Readers Comments