This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Monday 24 February, 2020

5 senior players in Clare and Limerick U21 teams for Munster quarter-finals

Clare take on Waterford tomorrow night and Limerick entertain Cork.

Martin O'Leary will be a key man for the Clare U21's tomorrow night.
Martin O'Leary will be a key man for the Clare U21's tomorrow night.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

CLARE AND LIMERICK have both named five senior players each in their starting sides for tomorrow’s Eirgrid Munster U21 football championship quarter-finals.

Clare are at home to Waterford in Miltown Malbay at 7.30pm while Cork entertain Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds at 7.30pm.

Clare are without Conor Cleary, a member of Davy Fitzgerald’s senior hurling squad, but can call on five players from Colm Collins senior football setup.

Full-back Jack O’Dea, wing-back Darren Nagle, midfielder Jamie Malone, corner-forward Martin O’Leary and full-forward Keelan Sexton are the players in question.

Limerick’s team includes players with recent senior experience include full-back Stephen Cahill, centre-back Cillian Fahy, midfielder and captain Gearoid Hegarty, centre-forward Cian Sheehan and corner-forward Jason Mullins. Senior footballer Sean O’Dea misses out through injury.


1. Killian Normoyle (Lissycasey)

2.Cian O’Mahoney (Doonbeg)
3. Jack O’Dea (Kilfenora)
4. Conor Brennan (Éire óg – Captain)

5. Darren Nagle (Liscannor)
6. Conor O’Brien (Doora-Barefield)
7. Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora)

8. Dara Walsh (Éire óg)
9. Jamie Malone (Corofin)

10. Liam Corry (Éire óg)
11. Paddy O’Malley (Éire Óg)
12. Dale Masterson (St Breckan’s)

13. Martin O’Leary (Kilmihil)
14. Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry Ibrickane)
15. Eimhin Courtney (Éire Óg)


1. James O’Meara – Fr. Casey’s

2. Shane Cusack – Monaleen
3. Stephen Cahill – Mountcollins
4. Sean Barrett – Bruff

5. Chris Smith – Fr. Casey’s
6. Cillian Fahy – Dromcollogher/Broadford
7. Tony McCarthy – Kildimo/Pallaskenry

8. William O’Donoghue – Na Piarsaigh
9. Gearoid Hegarty – St. Patrick’s

10. Evan Quinlan – Monaleen
11. Cian Sheehan – Newcastlewest
12. Killian Ryan – Mungret

13. Kevin Moore – Glin
14. Jack English – Adare
15. Jason Mullins – St Patrick’s

No O’Driscoll but Cork name six from last year’s U21 winning team for Munster opener

Here are the 36 GAA fixtures to keep an eye on this week

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel